What's new

MQTT : Mosquitto on a router

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Aa26

New Around Here
Hello,
I would like to know if we can install mosquitto on a router.
I have the rt-ac86u under asuswrt-merlin

Thank you

I have a RT-N66U and got the Mosquitto MQTT Broker (from Entware repo) working perfectly with my SONOFFs.

Hello,
This is probably a very basic question but I am a newbie at all this.. I have the mosquitto broker up and running on my RT-N66U with merlin, and all is working well. However, I cannot figure out how to have the mosquitto service auto-run after reboot, without me having to ssh in and start the service manually.
Would someone be kind enough to guide me through this?
Thanks and Happy New Year!

I have a RT-N66U and got the Mosquitto MQTT Broker (from Entware repo) working perfectly with my SONOFFs.
do you have a guide? i installed mosquitto, but now what? does it run automatically? how do i interact with it? i see instructions for a webgui running it on a pi, but i cant find much info.

Check to see if a startup script was installed in /opt/etc/init.d directory when mosquito was installed. If so, that script may need tweaking for your environment (usually the paths need to be adjusted to your environment).

Another option is to start your software from the /jffs/scripts/services-start script.

erg... i guess i just dont know what im doing...
:/tmp/home/root# /opt/etc/init.d
-sh: /opt/etc/init.d: Permission denied

and i also think i installed the client instead of the broker.

init.d is a directory. You will have to change directory to /opt/etc/init.d and see if a file exists there. It will be named S80 or S40 something. It will likely have the mosquito in the name.