What's new

Network questions on a new RT-AX86U Pro

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

angryfatcat

New Around Here
Greetings,

I hope this is in the correct forum, if it's not please let me know.

I'm new to Asuswrt-Merlin (former Pfsense and Openwrt user). I just installed 388.2_2 on an RT-AX86U Pro. My goal is to simplify the amount of hardware I have to deal with and my network topology and to make it easier for someone who is not tech oriented to maintain. For the most part, the change has been straight forward, but I do have a few questions about a few network issues.

I have a few IP cameras (wired) that I need to stop from calling home. On my old network these were in a separate interface with a different IP range that were blocked the firewall. On the AX86Upro, I've blocked access to the internet via the gui. Unfortunately by doing this, when I VPN into the network via wireguard, I have access to the rest of the LAN, but not the cameras. If I unblock the camera, access is restored. So apparently blocking the cameras block them from more than just accessing the WAN. Oddly enough, the Instant Guard VPN does not have the same issue. Is there an easy way to resolve this?

I'm also running a guest network for a few IOT devices (and a printer). I need one-way-access to two of these devices from the LAN and they need to have static IPs. I've looked at Yazfi for this and I think this solves the one-way-access issue, but causes issues with giving them a static IP. It looks like it also causes some misrepresentation with the client list and the network map.

If this was Pfsense or openwrt, I'd know how to fix these. Unfortunately this doesn't seem to be as straight forward in Merlin.