What's new

Not Sure What I Need

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Niotic

New Around Here
I'm brand new to all this so cut me some slack. What I want is something I can connect to from a remote location to access my movies, pictures, music, etc. This would need to be accessible from my house or anywhere else on any computer with the right log on. Something power friendly but can stream 720p movies without much struggle. I would prefer it to be a DIY for financial reasons and since its more fun to build it with your own two hands. Is what I'm looking for a NAS or something else? Any input/suggestions appreciated. Thanks in advance!!

Slingbox 500

If you want something simple that will bring all your video sources to wherever you are, look at what a Slingbox 500 will do.

It will connect to your router using Ethernet or WiFi, but IMHO Ethernet is always best.

You also will need a a good Internet connection at home if you want to watch your videos in 1080P. If you don't have a steady UPLOAD speed at home of at least 5 Mbps you won't get HD quality. You will also need at least the same download speed at the receiving end if you want to watch in HD. HD quality only matters if you are going to watch the Sling stream on a large screen. On a tablet or phone as little 700 - 800 Kbps download speed will get the job done.

Power consumption is probably 50 watts or less for the Slingbox 500. I can't tell you exactly as I have an older model.

You can stream 1080p without much struggle why stop with 720p media. Still cost wise you can get:

ESR600H (256MB of RAM, 600MHz CPU 800MB on Gigabit ports, 4x 5dBi ANT)
NSA325 (nas support up to 6TB plus has media server support)