What's new

OPNsense vs. pfSense CE in 2023, what are your thoughts?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Miner

Regular Contributor
I am new to pfSense, and now considering OPNsense. Recently dove head first and bought a device with 4 interfaces. Am planning to use pfSense CE. In the past have used Cisco RV345 and similar (RV130, RV220) SOHO routers. And I am used to having a separate wireless AP, based all the excellent discussions in here over the years.

I read in the different reddit forums people have a dislike for pfSense. Comments such as ‘don’t trust the future of pfSense,’ and ‘reddit forum is moderated by NetGate they delete criticisms’, and “Moved from pfsense because of their arrogance.” The first two are generalizations, and the third is a very recent thread, via this link. These seem to be somewhat exaggerated, from what little I have read so far.

One concerning thing I see is from the OPNsense IPv6 forums, almost everything involving a bug report and patch/fix revolve around a person named franco. He seems to a one-man operation who analyzes, reports back, and posts patches on bugs, and hopefully in all that he finds time for testing fixes. I’m specifically commenting on IPv6 issues here, I haven’t looked in detail at any of the broader issues being reported on the OPNsense forums, and for that reason along I may be getting a too-narrowly focused opinion of this.

I’ve read a few threads on here on this very topic, all from 2021. I’m asking here for the latest thinking now that two+ years have elapsed.

Thoughts, opinions?

Thoughts, opinions?

Use whatever you like better.

I'm using pfSense for both home and business needs on Netgate appliances. This is what I like better.