What's new

Port Forwarding disappears

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Dave Moseley

Occasional Visitor
After 4 days, Port Forwarding rule disappears from router. It can be easily reentered and will persist for approximately the same period, before disappearing again. Firmware is at level 11_2

I am new to Merlin, having recently migrated from 384-45713 to 384.11_0 on RT-AC68U. Current firmware is 384.11_2

The forwarding is for port 1194 to Raspberry Pi, running an OpenVPN server: see below. This behavior began after converting to Merlin. Apologies as I can't recall if it also occurred on 11_0

upload_2019-5-22_12-34-17.png

Dave, hello and welcome to the forum.

You’ve got a wonderfully reliable router in the RT-AC68U. Now, please tell me that you:

a. Carried out a reset to factory default settings (RFDS) AFTER flashing the Merlin firmware and then you manually re-entered your custom settings (ie you didn’t restore from a backup file).

b. You carried out the RFDS using L&LD’s Guide:

https://www.snbforums.com/threads/n...l-and-manual-configuration.27115/#post-205573

This is your starting point - a good factory reset. After that, and especially with your router model, you should never have a problem - except of your own making!

Last edited:
That is a considerable price to pay, as I love my Asus router and have significantly customized it and it otherwise seems to be working fine (without RFDS).

Thanks much for a quick reply, I'll do as you suggest.

Check your nvram usage on Tools -> Sysinfo, make sure you are not running out of nvram.

65442 / 65536 bytes.

I have an extensive MAC whitelist filter, that I can trim, also the number of OpenVPN client definitions?

Wireless MAC filter is my biggest RFDS headache ...