What's new

QNAP TS-219P questions for a complete novice

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Retroglide

New Around Here
I have no external storage what so ever and am currently searching for a device/solution.
Im the main home user with my Macbook Pro and the wife users her Windows laptop every now and then. Digital Photography is a hobby of mine and im starting to build a collection of images that need storing off the Mac. I was initialy going to buy 2 drives. A WD My Book Studio 2 connected via Firewire800 to the Macbook and then a WD My Book World NAS as a means of storage and also allowing access to my images/family pics to my wife via her Windows laptop. Plus also sharing via the Xbox 360 and PS3. Am I correct in saying that the transfer speeds on the WD devices isn't the fastest?

With that in mind the QNAP TS-219P caught my eye. Its seems faster and reviews seem favorable also. But as a complete novice can this device be recommended as a good solution?

Thanks in advance for any reply :)

The new generation (white bar) MyBook Worlds are much faster than the first gen. But the QNAP TS-219P is still much faster (check the NAS Charts).

The QNAP TS-219P has way more features than you need, but it would be perfectly suitable for your needs, as would most NASes.

Thanks for the speedy reply thiggins.