What's new

Risks for installing Tomato?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Ixel

New Around Here
Hi,
As I'm new to ASUS routers, and the fact I'm currently having a problem with static routing (I can't fully manage to get my block /29 of public IP's to work on my network devices) on the ASUS firmware, I had considered trying Tomato instead.

What I want to know is:
- Are there risks, such as bricking the router completely, or is there a recovery mechanism always available in the event of a firmware failure? (I've heard there's something on the CFE?, a 30-30-30 recovery method?)
- Will it void the warranty?
- Can I go back to ASUS Merlin if I need to?
- Is anyone here using Tomato on an RT-N66U or similar router, if so what are your experiences with Tomato?
- Other alternative suggestions similar to Tomato are welcome, such as DD-WRT for example, please mention why you would recommend something if you do though

Apologies if these questions have had answers before. Thanks for any help in advance.

Hi,
Moving back and forth between different flavor f/w is trivial thing. Just go at it slow, Be
patient, no rush when you flash f/w. I ended up bricking few routers but no matter what
I could revive them with various methods. Your router is almost impossible to brick unless
one does very stupid thing.

Hi,
Moving back and forth between different flavor f/w is trivial thing. Just go at it slow, Be
patient, no rush when you flash f/w. I ended up bricking few routers but no matter what
I could revive them with various methods. Your router is almost impossible to brick unless
one does very stupid thing.