What's new

OpenVPN, DDNS, PixelServ CA and other basic questions...

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

sl4fko

Regular Contributor
Hello world,

I am a very satisfied ASUS router user, in networking and computing generally I am not a beginner, but still...

I have some basic questions aboat using some functions, that are available on it...

DDNS

What is it usable for? Yes, I know, it allows clients to acces home network... But... Isn't that the same as the OpenVPN? I have succesful OpenVPN connection with my router at home, how is DDNS different?

In DDNS settings I saw PixelServ certificate, that allows me to do what? I know, I can install certificate into my browser by installing it like "192.168.1.2/ca.crt". I am running Merlin 384.13 on my AC86U, installed Diversion, so Pixelserv is in it... I know, it has to do something with security but it is not clear to me what... Diversion is great, there are (almost) no adverts, but why Pixelserv...

I am really sorry for my "crazy" questions, but they are bothering me for some time now...

Thank you all for _______ (answers, advices, yelling :D...)!

DDNS

What is it usable for? Yes, I know, it allows clients to acces home network... But... Isn't that the same as the OpenVPN? I have succesful OpenVPN connection with my router at home, how is DDNS different?