What's new

Which Synology product? Suggestions please ...

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

wmarson

Occasional Visitor
Hello all. About to jump into the NAS world and have pretty much narrowed down my choice to Synology (based on all the positive feedback around the net). But, being a newbie, I'm not sure which one is right for me. Can you guys help????

So, here are my requirements (and current computer landscape):

1 Windows 7 desktop (where all of our dSLR post processing/photo editing occurs)
2 MacBook's (my wife and I have separate iTunes accounts)
2 iPad's
2 iPhone's
1 Apple TV (the new one)

We are currently backing up all of our data to the Cloud (Amazon S3 via JungleDisk). However, I am very interested in a local backup solution (primary desire) that doubles as a central media server (secondary desire). We are not a power media couple -- but, my wife has a decent iTunes library, and I have something decent as well. We love to stream music and photos to our ATV -- but currently, we both have to log into iTunes on our separate machines for Home Sharing to work and for the ATV to 'see' both MacBooks. Same goes with our Windows PC for photos.

So, knowing this -- can someone recommend the best possible Synology solution for my above home computing environment?

Thanks in advance for your input, comments, and advice!

All the Synology models use the same 'software', so all the features are the same on all their models

This means that you just need to decide how much storage space you want and choose the relevant size of the unit along with the performance

As probably you know from your own searches, each size of unit has different spec models

1 bay
DS112j - 1Ghz CPU 128MB RAM
DS112 - 1.6Ghz CPU 256MB RAM

2 bay