What's new

100/50 Mbit ISP overkill for OpenVPN Asus AC66U Router?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

sambosoul

Occasional Visitor
Greetings,

I recently upgraded my 50/50 Mbit ISP connection to 100/50 Mbit connection, hoping that my Asus AC66U router would allow for greater bandwidth when being connected to an OpenVPN server in nearby Singapore (I live in Bangkok, Thailand). My VPN provider is NordVPN.

However, after the upgrade I only manage to get 25-30Mbit downstream when being connected to the Singapore OpenVPN server. This is not noticeably faster than before when I had my 50/50 Mbit line. I kind of regret the upgrade now as the added value is negligible.

I am new to VPN routers but I was wondering what you experts here would suggest me to do now? Am I right in guessing that I have the following options in order to "get more speed for my money"..
  1. buy a very powerful (and veeery) expensive "off-the-shelf" router which comes with greater CPU processing power, or
  2. fall back to client VPN on my devices (iMac, iPhone, iPad...) as their CPUs can actually achieve higher throughput.
Alternatively, would a change from OpenVPN to L2TP make a noticeable difference?

Your guidance and feedback is appreciated.

With thanks,
SamboSoul.

Greetings,

I recently upgraded my 50/50 Mbit ISP connection to 100/50 Mbit connection, hoping that my Asus AC66U router would allow for greater bandwidth when being connected to an OpenVPN server in nearby Singapore (I live in Bangkok, Thailand). My VPN provider is NordVPN.