Fork 380.57 HGG-FINAL

Status
Not open for further replies.

Matthew Patrick

Senior Member
what should the TX power set at for a AC87U? Currently I have it set at the default of 70%.
Ok. I msg hggomes privately. And he say that ac87u and ac3200 hardware are ready for 100%/1Watt . but please report now throughout speed and after doing it. And btw. See the range diffrence too. And last one. If after u make it 1Watt the speed decrease it might cuz the receiver overload . so test again but not NEAR the router. Like another room. Waiting ur test :)
 

kublai

Occasional Visitor
Ok. I msg hggomes privately. And he say that ac87u and ac3200 hardware are ready for 100%/1Watt . but please report now throughout speed and after doing it. And btw. See the range diffrence too. And last one. If after u make it 1Watt the speed decrease it might cuz the receiver overload . so test again but not NEAR the router. Like another room. Waiting ur test :)

I turned it up to 80% and the range appears to be better but I did not do a thru-put test.
 

joegreat

Very Senior Member
I turned it up to 80% and the range appears to be better but I did not do a thru-put test.
Pumping up the volume (transmission power) is only working like a one-way story towards the device - but keep in mind that the device (e.g. SmartPhone) need also more volume to shout back to the router... :rolleyes:

To do the job done both directions there is no "magic 100% on router solution": In my case it's simply a second router in AP mode to have coverage AND to hear the devices shouting (getting full speed WLAN from/to the client devices)!

And: Do not forget to keep your router around the transmission limits of your country regulations - e.g. in Europe you an only run 100%/1 Watt for 5 GHz channels above no. 100... ;)
 

kublai

Occasional Visitor
Pumping up the volume (transmission power) is only working like a one-way story towards the device - but keep in mind that the device (e.g. SmartPhone) need also more volume to shout back to the router... :rolleyes:

To do the job done both directions there is no "magic 100% on router solution": In my case it's simply a second router in AP mode to have coverage AND to hear the devices shouting (getting full speed WLAN from/to the client devices)!

And: Do not forget to keep your router around the transmission limits of your country regulations - e.g. in Europe you an only run 100%/1 Watt for 5 GHz channels above no. 100... ;)

Thanks for the info. I don't want to push it past 100% as I don't want my new shiny router to die yet. I noticed on my old AC66U that when it's running at 100% it's already hot.
 

squirrellydw

Regular Contributor
So since we can adjust TX power and choose channels that normally are not available. What are the best settings for a AC68U? Or does it depend on location and other variables and there is no one best setting? I've never had router that allows all these setting so it's all new to me.
If it helps I have

2 - iPhones 6
1 - Apple TV 3rd gen
2 - Apple Laptops, one 2007ish and one 2012ish

everything else is connected through ethernet cat 6
 
Last edited:

Matthew Patrick

Senior Member
So since we can adjust TX power and choose channels that normally are not available. What are the best settings for a AC68U? Or does it depend on location and other variables and there is no one best setting? I've never had router that allows all these setting so it's all new to me.
If it helps I have

2 - iPhones 6
1 - Apple TV 3rd gen
2 - Apple Laptops, one 2007ish and one 2012ish

everything else is connected through ethernet cat 6
Cuz ur android devices or your laptop maybe using regulations mode. So it cant detect channels not on ur regulation. So please set channel from ethernet.then select the channels u want. But the channels that compatible with ur regulation. And . my own experience on 2 house. That on 5ghz select the lowest channel ur regulations can connect(so other device can connect) . and about that tx power only send to device and not increase tx to router , its right. But. If u do that. U get more signal. And even maybe on spot u didnt get wifi. U get wifi with still good download speed. But the upload is sucks. But if u just wanna use it for browsing or such? Why not? Btw u say that ur old router is hot? Where do you live(region)
 

alessandro893

Occasional Visitor
So since we can adjust TX power and choose channels that normally are not available. What are the best settings for a AC68U? Or does it depend on location and other variables and there is no one best setting? I've never had router that allows all these setting so it's all new to me.
If it helps I have

2 - iPhones 6
1 - Apple TV 3rd gen
2 - Apple Laptops, one 2007ish and one 2012ish

everything else is connected through ethernet cat 6

If you want to have good speeds on macbooks and best wifi coverage for all other devices, then install hggomes 378.55.4 firmware, Set TX Power to 100% (especially for 5Ghz), enable 802.11d, DTIM Interval = 1, Beacon Interval = 20, RTS Threshold to 1400-1600, choose channel 36 for 5G, disable WMM No-Acknowledgement in wifi>professional.

Enable all of this: WMM APSD, Optimize ack suppression, Enable WMM APSD, Airtime Fairness, 802.11ac Beamforming, Universal Beamforming, Optimize AMPDU aggregation.

Turn on adaptive qos (do not turn on traditional or fw acceleration will be turned off)

Overclock it. I overclocked my to 1400 mhz cpu, 800 mhz ddr (bogomips 2798)



AC68U
 

eddiez

Senior Member
If you want to have good speeds on macbooks and best wifi coverage for all other devices, then install hggomes 378.55.4 firmware, Set TX Power to 100% (especially for 5Ghz), enable 802.11d, DTIM Interval = 1, Beacon Interval = 20, RTS Threshold to 1400-1600, choose channel 36 for 5G, disable WMM No-Acknowledgement in wifi>professional.

Enable all of this: WMM APSD, Optimize ack suppression, Enable WMM APSD, Airtime Fairness, 802.11ac Beamforming, Universal Beamforming, Optimize AMPDU aggregation.

Turn on adaptive qos (do not turn on traditional or fw acceleration will be turned off)

Overclock it. I overclocked my to 1400 mhz cpu, 800 mhz ddr (bogomips 2798)

AC68U
Overclocking will not provide substantial gain on network (tx/rx) related performance. Only decyphering of VPN keys might benefit a tiny bit.

Universal beamforming could slow down performance on AC connections.

See other topics on this board for these remarks.

Also some additional reading: http://www.rickygao.com/tuning-the-asus-wireless-router-to-best-performance/
 
Last edited:

alessandro893

Occasional Visitor
Overclocking will not provide substantial gain on network (tx/rx) related performance. Only decyphering of VPN keys might benefit a tiny bit.

Universal beamforming could slow down performance on AC connections.

See other topics on this board for these remarks.

"Overclocking" will gain performance, especially if you have a big amount of wireless clients, DDR throughput increases. Our routers are working under linux, so all applications, processes, daemons will be performed in less time period.

Universal beamforming couldn't slow down macbooks with AC (I have MBR), but improves RSSI on Apple IOS devices (ipod/ipad/iphone)

TESTED!
 
Last edited:

L&LD

Part of the Furniture
Version 380.57.5 is available.

Changelog:
CHANGES:
=======

380.57.5: (8 FEV 16)

- FIXED: Enhanced Mode, it locks up after set to Maximum Coverage (slower speeds) and it's unable to revert back to Maximum Speed after, this affects all ARM models.
- UPDATED: SDParm to 1.10b3 version.


380.57.4: (3 FEV 16)

- FIXED: MiniDLNA not working due to wrong symlink filename.

KNOWN ISSUES:

- Enhanced Mode, it locks up after set to Maximum Coverage (slower speeds) and it's unable to revert back to Maximum Speed after, this affects all ARM models.


380.57.3: (1 FEV 16)

- NEW: Private Internet Access VPN support.
- FIXED: ASUS WEBUI missing code.
- FIXED: RT-AC56U/S TX Power code.
- FIXED: WEBUI Media Server code.
- UPDATED: Curl to 7.47.0 version.
- UPDATED: JPEG to v9b version.
- UPDATED: LibUSB to 1.0.20 version.
- UPDATED: OpenSSL to 1.0.2f version.
- UPDATED: PCRE to 8.38 version.
- UPDATED: SDParm to 1.10b2 version.
- UPDATED: SQLite to 3.10.2 version.
- UPDATED: USB_ModeSwitch to 2.3.0 version.

KNOWN ISSUES:

- MiniDLNA not working due to wrong symlink filename.


Status:
380.57.5_HGG-FINAL
==================


RT-N16 - READY. (UPLOADED)
67266f88a62ec574ad08aff1fc5f3a57850262b7d23a9fae42c9eca0519b9644 RT-N16_380.57.5_HGG-FINAL.trx

RT-N18U - READY. (UPLOADED)
56b9e3f7f851a7ba8c110c0810644923c765b8b7928eea926a850b2638028dd7 RT-N18U_380.57.5_HGG-FINAL.trx

RT-N66U - READY. (UPLOADED)
6d0578e3ea04547ad0857120c67785d30b75f866c7dfdf2c63b38139d4ddda23 RT-N66U_380.57.5_HGG-FINAL.trx

RT-AC66U - READY. (UPLOADED)
24c4cf226738dce91d264a14c822fd0154a06439beac69e9a26f3c0c5ca9dbae RT-AC66U_380.57.5_HGG-FINAL.trx

RT-AC56S - READY. (UPLOADED)
6ff121eeb9416bcb4e89aeb770566a6b6377b6053a2e348194617f968624235e RT-AC56S_380.57.5_HGG-FINAL.trx

RT-AC56U - READY. (UPLOADED)
3f2ce4e6c081cf0f50d5f6f13349ced735ff1380bf56533eb36d5ffc89683a2b RT-AC56U_380.57.5_HGG-FINAL.trx

RT-AC68U - READY. (UPLOADED)
fae1004b1d4f1174bf8630bee80246a0ac792e8d63f29eb925eec4ff5cf51144 RT-AC68U_380.57.5_HGG-FINAL.trx (NEW DRIVER)
e8bc8624787e1ac4e28e6c54c797a6ae9656ec9647b4cfbe620bbe5490aafb6d RT-AC68U_380.57.5_HGG-FINAL.trx (OLD DRIVER)

- There are some reports on the new driver causing issues (unable to connect and disconnects), specially on 2.4GHZ band.
This doesn't affect everyone but it seems reproducible on some specific devices.
If that's the case use old driver instead, it will fix it.

RT-AC87U - READY. (UPLOADED)
b904299b3a12896ae2ac70039ecf93d87f929ecbba16f0852418b18417ae8a13 RT-AC87U_380.57.5_HGG-FINAL.trx

RT-AC3100 - DELAYED, IN TEST.

RT-AC3200 - READY. (UPLOADED)
dc1de33442c194b7d65deaec6bff1a13b8db5d4354384e796fbef216365ceeb5 RT-AC3200_380.57.5_HGG-FINAL.trx

RT-AC88U - DELAYED, IN TEST.

RT-AC5300 => DELAYED, IN TEST.
 

alessandro893

Occasional Visitor

alessandro893

Occasional Visitor
These are readily discussed on the forum. Like it is mentioned. Haven't seen any 'proof' that overclocking enhances networking either.

http://www.snbforums.com/threads/asuswrt-merlin-380-57-is-now-available.29308/page-11#post-226958

http://www.snbforums.com/threads/ov...rt-ac68u-and-rt-n66u.28043/page-4#post-218369

to just name a few
I can write opposed position, my AC68U runs/boot up faster and have better response without any errors with overclock and 12cm fan at the back side.
 
Last edited:

eddiez

Senior Member
I can write opposed position, my AC68U runs/boot up faster and have better response without any errors with overclock and 12cm fan at the back side.
Perception/feeling is not really proof. GUI responsiveness is nice, but that's not really what you buy a router for. Sounds a bit like "the GUI looks nicer with other colors". The calculations in the posts do provide some more reliable evidence, wouldn't you think.

But by all means, overclock it. As long as you believe it works better, it works for you. But overall the added value has not been proven. It's a bit like religion :)
 

alessandro893

Occasional Visitor
Perception/feeling is not really proof. GUI responsiveness is nice, but that's not really what you buy a router for. Sounds a bit like "the GUI looks nicer with other colors". The calculations in the posts do provide some more reliable evidence, wouldn't you think.

But by all means, overclock it. As long as you believe it works better, it works for you. But overall the added value has not been proven. It's a bit like religion :)
If cpu clock rate didn't affect on performance, so tell me why asus made AC88U with 1400mhz BCM4709C0 cpu? They can use old 1000mhz BCM4709A0
 

DomFel

Occasional Visitor
But by all means, overclock it. As long as you believe it works better, it works for you. But overall the added value has not been proven. It's a bit like religion :)
No man it's not. It's what wifi offloader cpus are for, installed in many of the modern routers. They started implementing them only on the 5Ghz band because of higher bandwidth, now those offload cpus are there for 2,4Ghz networks as well.
They leave more CPU cycles for TCP/IP. By a rule of thumb of 1hz of CPU processing is required to receive 1bit/s of TCP/IP. Thus overclocking will give more 'horsepower' to wifi connected devices too, particularly those on the 5Ghz band.

Happy networking!
 

eddiez

Senior Member
No man it's not. It's what wifi offloader cpus are for, installed in many of the modern routers. They started implementing them only on the 5Ghz band because of higher bandwidth, now those offload cpus are there for 2,4Ghz networks as well.
They leave more CPU cycles for TCP/IP. By a rule of thumb of 1hz of CPU processing is required to receive 1bit/s of TCP/IP. Thus overclocking will give more 'horsepower' to wifi connected devices too, particularly those on the 5Ghz band.



Happy networking!
There's plenty of overhead with default CPU speeds. Unless you have >500/500 Mbit WAN connections. But that's not something the majority will have.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top