Release [Fork] Asuswrt-Merlin 374 LTS release 47EB (RT-AC68U V3, Lets Encrypt CLI)

  • ATTENTION! As of November 1, 2020, you are not able to reply to threads 6 months after the thread is opened if there are more than 500 posts in the thread.
    Threads will not be locked, so posts may still be edited by their authors.
    Just start a new thread on the topic to post if you get an error message when trying to reply to a thread.
Status
Not open for further replies.

john9527

Part of the Furniture
LATEST RELEASE: Update-47EB
1 March 2021
Merlin fork 374.43_47EBj9527
============================

NOTE: The RT-AC68U V3 support in this build appears to break Media Bridge or Repeater modes when any model RT-AC68U is used as the Media Bridge or Repeater hardware. A new build is pending which will unfortunately have to remove the V3 support.

Update-47EB Highlights
  • NEW - Support for RT-AC68U V3 routers. Includes updated wireless drivers that are used for all RT-AC68U hardware levels
  • NEW - Added installer for CLI version of ACME.SH (LetsEncrypt)
    From an ssh login, run install-acme.sh
    The installer will
    • Download the latest version of ACME.SH from github
    • Install in /jffs/acme.sh
    • Update or create /jffs/configs/profile.add to support acme.sh
    • Create a script /jffs/scripts/renew-acme.sh to renew any generated certs
    • Setup a cron job in /jffs/scripts/services-start to perform auto cert renewal
    see https://github.com/acmesh-official/acme.sh for the full documentation
  • Updated OpenSSL to 1.1.1j including bug and security fixes
  • Updated NANO
  • Updated NFS daemon for ARM routers (AC56 and AC68). MIPS based routers’ kernel is not compatible with the update and continues with the previous level
  • Fixed a problem where OpenVPN client/server would attempt to start before the router system time was set (regression in 46E9/47D9)
  • Delayed DDNS updates until the router system time was set
    Some DDNS updates (Google Domains for example) would fail with an SSL error without a valid time

Full ChangeLog: Changelog.txt in the download directory

Downloads

Folder 'Public-Release/Update-47EB'


Overview/Installation: LTS_OVERVIEW.pdf in the download directory

Previous release threads:
https://www.snbforums.com/threads/fork-asuswrt-merlin-374-lts-release-46e9-dnspooq.69896/
https://www.snbforums.com/threads/fork-asuswrt-merlin-374-lts-release-46e8-superseded.68757/
https://www.snbforums.com/threads/fork-asuswrt-merlin-374-lts-release-45ec.67509

SHA256
(Default Build - All supported routers)
12f5947907d84db781ed604e7aeb68c9cbd4ec0f406bfd2c6b8691ede80619dd RT-N16_374.43_47EBj9527.trx
fbb05f389607495b215ab50a903e90587ad316168c2df5471ef024f5e0677da0 RT-AC66U_374.43_47EBj9527.trx
64180ca44cb2273dad3a77e3dc55c8e8c7022ea6d3702414edd0afb24fe714e5 RT-N66U_374.43_47EBj9527.trx
9e78f15957ff44088e03c039e3af2b9ea6c03d7393d928b391b82d993a7e6328 RT-AC68U_374.43_47EBj9527.trx
663a312d4dd3d2b64472775bda2cd53cb563beb3da167bb1e57e498133ff8624 RT-AC56U_374.43_47EBj9527.trx
 
Last edited:

Wallace_n_Gromit

Senior Member
Update-47EB Highlights
SHA256

(Default Build - All supported routers)
1d3bad20327a71ad495d0151b05cd89684afec84ba181dbd5b2badeb8527e580 RT-N16_374.43_47DBj9527.trx
12f5947907d84db781ed604e7aeb68c9cbd4ec0f406bfd2c6b8691ede80619dd RT-N16_374.43_47EBj9527.trx
2 SHA256 checksums for 2 downloads for the RT-N16 are listed.

EDIT: I do see that your 46E8 link works for the 47EB version
 
Last edited:

dev_null

Senior Member
John, check the dates (year) in the changelog... (2021).

(Or am I reading them out of order?)
 

Make WiFi Great Again

Regular Contributor
So far so good on a 68u dirty flashed from 47D9
 

DeepAnger

Occasional Visitor
Thank you. It works as before (47D9) for almost 4 hours.
 

john9527

Part of the Furniture
Quick note....
I've updated the download link to a single link to access folders for both 'Public-Release' and 'Development-Beta' builds. Simplify things and keep me from messing up the links again :)
 

Gar

Very Senior Member
It's working fine after 7 hours, thanks!
 

mdlguy10

New Around Here
I'm a long time lurker. I decided to finally register. Thanks John for these LTS releases.

I just wanted to say this firmware is working fine on my RT-AC56U for 4 hours now and counting.
 

Zetto

Regular Contributor
no need to reset the router if upgrading from 43? I did it on my n66u, doesn't appear to have any issues
 

Wallace_n_Gromit

Senior Member
@john9527 On my RT-N16 At the:

[Parental control]
[DNS Filtering] Tab I have
[Enable DNS-based Filtering] is set to ON

When I try to add my DELL desktop computer to
[Filter Mode] is set to Router
[Add/Delete] click the "+" button

I get a pop-up message :
192.168.1.1 says
Cannot specify a rule which matches the global filter mode!
When the [Filter Mode] is set to CleanBrowsing Family, for example, it works but doesn't for Router.

The solution is probably obvious... that's why I haven't figured it out, I'm sure! :D

BTW: I saw this behavior today on the prior version before I saved config/JFFS then updated. I wanted to see if it also continued on the latest version.

Other than that another fine, trouble-free flash/update.
 

Attachments

  • Web capture_3-3-2021_101248_192.168.1.1.jpeg
    Web capture_3-3-2021_101248_192.168.1.1.jpeg
    104.6 KB · Views: 75
Last edited:

john9527

Part of the Furniture
no need to reset the router if upgrading from 43? I did it on my n66u, doesn't appear to have any issues
Shouldn't need to reset, but the firmware image grew by about 300k from 43 to 47. So to avoid any problems, I would back up JFFS, reformat and restore JFFS.
 

john9527

Part of the Furniture
The solution is probably obvious... that's why I haven't figured it out, I'm sure! :D
From your screenshot, it's telling you the truth :)
With Global filter mode set to Router, all clients are forced to use the Router as DNS. Trying to add an individual client set to Router is redundant.
 

Wallace_n_Gromit

Senior Member
From your screenshot, it's telling you the truth :)
With Global filter mode set to Router, all clients are forced to use the Router as DNS. Trying to add an individual client set to Router is redundant.
I'm so used to redundantly "add(ing) an individual client set to Router" in Merlins Fork of your firmware << heh heh ;) That I just assumed that's how yours worked too! Dang, RMerlin. John, you need to set him straight. :D
 
Last edited:

Zetto

Regular Contributor
Shouldn't need to reset, but the firmware image grew by about 300k from 43 to 47. So to avoid any problems, I would back up JFFS, reformat and restore JFFS.
Did the reformat, twice actually, first before flashing, and then after. I didn't backup/restore since I'm not running any extras on top of the firmware. Was that a mistake?
 

Jack Yaz

Part of the Furniture
I'm so used to redundantly "add(ing) an individual client set to Router" in Merlins Fork of your firmware << heh heh ;) That I just assumed that's how yours worked too! Dang, RMerlin. John, you need to set him straight. :D
It's not required in Merlin either... You're just doing it wrong :D
 

followmsi

Regular Contributor
@john9527

Hi John

Like always .. Thanks a lot for all your work !

I have RT-AC68U (v1) in Router Mode and RT-AC68P as Media Bridge .. using this setup since years.

I do upgrade all your firmware releases on both devices .. starting always on media bridge first.
The media bridge is configured to use fixed IP.
Both devices are running on previous release (46E9) without any problems.

Today I did update the media bridge to latest 47EB.
The upgrade process itself was smooth as always.

But .. I lost IP connectivity now !
The media bidge is not able to ping router aynmore - which is still running on 46E9.

On media bridge in webgui I can see new version 47EB and wifi seems to be connected to my 5G SSID on router.
But no IP connectivity anymore .. no connection to the router itself and all the other devices connected to the router.
Of course, no connection to the internet too.
Only devices connected to media bridge are reachable.
Tested vice versa too .. also no connection from router connected devices to the media bridge anymore.

As we are in home office mode I did not upgrade the router yet .. need to have stable connection.
For now I went back to 46E9 on media bridge and all is working like before.

Do I have to upgrade my main RT-AC68U (Router mode) first .. to be able to establsh IP connectivity again ?
If both RT-AC68 devices running on new 47EB connectivity should work again for media bridge ?
Or it's maybe a "bug" in new wifi drivers from latest release .. or maybe some config change required to make it work ?

Thanks for you help !
 

fatspirit

Regular Contributor
Where should I watch for the Fork's new release threads? Can't get used to this new thread system ()-8
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top