What's new

"Fun" with SAMBA on XT8 Mesh LAN (It's not working!)

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

LouisRedux

Occasional Visitor
Two upfront confessions:

1. I am a complete noob with this topic, and whilst I am IT literate, a lot of the relevant networking terminology I just don't know (For example: with as simple a thing as "\\server\share" I'm not sure exactly what each thing is, even though it's obvious! Don't get me wrong, I have an idea, but not enough of one to be sure I'm getting things 100% right. So I experiment, and nothing so far has worked). It's a gaping hole in my IT knowledge. This leads to confession two...
  2. I have searched for answers but the ones I have found are either confusing or antique. I have spent days trying to fix this but I am insufficiently expert to tell good ideas from bad, and having had many IT troubles recently I am very reluctant to play with things like the registry editor etc (I'm usually relatively competent, this is just unfamiliar territory). Please be gentle!
Context:

• I have recently set up a home mesh network using three ASUS XT8 units (wifi backhaul, Windows 11 Pro). I have attached two 5 TB HDDs, one to each of the wireless nodes. They seem to behave exactly like the test USB drive I plugged directly into the router, so I don't think the router/node difference is the problem. All firmware, BIOS, software, drivers etc are up to date, I'm using my normal Windows account (full admin privileges), and I'm also using the only ASUS router account I have (again, admin).