What's new

Getting hourly traffic data by device

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

puckpuck

New Around Here
I have the cstats and rstats files getting written hourly, but they only contain daily/monthly data per device. I know about the /var/spool/rstats-speed.js file which contains per router interface data taken at 30 second intervals for the past 24 hours.

What I really want is traffic data by device, by hour (or shorter). I don't care if the file is binary, json, or whatever. I'm a software engineer and can write code to parse the files, in fact I did just that for the cstats and rstats file. From what I can tell playing with the GUI traffic analyzer, it seems the router has this data somewhere. Does anyone know how I can get to it?

I'm using an RT-AC68U

PS: If anyone is interested, I wrote a proper python script, and more robust Java app that parses the cstats file properly. The only python script I found online didn't work since it looks for SPEED_SUPPORT data, and doesn't account for the storage of 2 additional values written for each record.

PPS: I seen in assuswrt-merlin source that the SPEED_SUPPORT are specifically omitted from the cstats file. Is this solely for drive space consumption reasons. Any hope of getting this to become and GUI option instead for people who don't mind the larger files?
https://github.com/RMerl/asuswrt-me...8cc6c0/release/src/router/cstats/cstats.h#L26

PS: If anyone is interested, I wrote a proper python script, and more robust Java app that parses the cstats file properly.
That could be very useful as it's something that's asked for quite frequently. Perhaps you could put it on github or dropbox or something. Thanks.