What's new

Hidden SSID

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

TonyK132

Hello - I'm new to Asuswrt-Merlin on the R7000 coming from dd-wrt. I installed 380.67.0, and it seems to be working OK, but I have a bunch of questions. Here's the 1st.

I have 4 wireless networks defined on 2.4G. But it seems the Hide SSID option is not working. Is this a bug? With Hide either enabled or disabled, a scan from my Android phone always shows all 4 WiFi networks.

Also, I would like to hide the SSID on 3 of them and only unhide 1 of the 4. But it does not appear I can do that. Is there a way? In dd-wrt, I could selectively hide SSIDs. When I did the Android scan when I was running dd-wrt, only 1 of the 4 showed up, which is what I want to do.

Thanks,
Tony

Merlin only supports Asus routers. If you want support for the R7000 you'll have to ask the person that made that firmware version (which isn't Merlin).
Sorry, I thought I had it right but I guess not. I'll go elsewhere.

Sorry to be blunt but we see quiet a few requests about non-Asus hardware. I'll assume that you're using a firmware from XVortex, in which case you should direct your questions to him, particularly as he encourages people to donate money to him.

http://www.linksysinfo.org/index.php?threads/asuswrt-merlin-on-netgear-r7000.71108/
He has a link in his ReadMe that this is the preferred place to ask questions about this s/w. I don't know but am guessing that my issue is common with his version and ASUSwrt for ASUS routers.

He has a link in his ReadMe that this is the preferred place to ask questions about this s/w. I don't know but am guessing that my issue is common with his version and ASUSwrt for ASUS routers.

Sounds like a bit of a jerk move on his part.