What's new

Mac or Ubuntu for server use

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

djoniba

New Around Here
Hello all.

I am a novice in the world of servers. I have two laptop macs in the house that both need backup possibilities (via Time Machine). I have two spare computers (both desktop) laying around that I can use as servers, and I need to know which one to put to the job. One is a dual 1gHz G4 mac with 1 gig RAM, and the other is a PC Pentium 5 3gHz with 1 gig RAM. I am planning to connect the server via cable to my wireless router (Thomson Speedtouch) and put it in my storage room in the basement.

What I need the server to do is:

1. Serve as "Time Capsule" for both laptops (probably on two different partitions).

2. Have BitTorrent installed to take care of all big downloads.

3. Be a regular file server to store movies, music, pictures etc.

4. Be a testing server for Joomla and other web applications when I design web pages.

Can I set up a server to do all these things?
Should I go for OSX server or Ubuntu? (what is the easiest to set up and will work)

Or should I sell the computers and buy a Buffalo LinkStation Live?
I don't think I'd do that. Others have reported problems with Buffalo supporting multiple Time Machine clients.

I don't know anything about OS X server. Ubuntu can probably do everything you want, but you'll probably need to be comfortable with Linux command lines and installing packages. Check this article for Time Machine support by Ubuntu.