What's new

"mile high" overview questions on VPN for multiple customers in star topology

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

coop4lyfe

Occasional Visitor
Hey folks,

I'm pretty new to the world of networking beyond the basics I've learned using Linux and some router alt-firmwares for a decade plus.

Right now I invested in an expensive Internet connection and am starting to roll out wireless service to neighbors so we can all share it, because it's the best option for our location. Currently I only have one network other than my own, and right now that's kludged with their router as the DMZ box on mine. Obviously, that can't last.

I guess my questions are:

1. I assume a capable "head end" router in my location, connected directly to the ISP, and then configured for 1 VLAN per neighbor-net is the best idea? If not, why not? I have switches and so forth that can handle VLANs so I can do a point-to-point link wireless link to the neighbors anywhere I can run Ethernet (or powerline Ethernet) and have line of sight.
  2. As far as keeping neighbors' networks private from each other and my own, will the VLAN scheme suffice? I intend to use OpenWRT on the "head end" and, where possible, on the devices in neighbors' homes.