What's new

Newbie MoCA questions

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

gneuner2

Occasional Visitor
Hi all,

A little background:
I've been working with Ethernet for ~30 years, but I'm a newbie with MoCA, so please forgive me if my questions (below) are naïve.

I'm on Xfinity cable, which enters (and splits) in the basement in a closet at one end of the house. The closet is shrouded by a metal beam, so there are WiFi access points connected to a wired business/workgroup router and cable modem in the closet.

The house is an open plan with no good location for a central WiFi router, so there are two SOHO WiFi routers configured as access points, one at each end of the house, which also serve wired clients.

I was using Powerline plugs to connect the "other end" AP to the router - but when one of the plugs died, I decided to try MoCA because there was existing coax available. So I got a pair of ScreenBeam ECB6250 (bonded 1Gbps) to experiment with.

My setup:

network_topology.png

Xfinity_cable_splitter.jpg

The results have been mixed: the MoCA bridge is more stable and faster than the Powerline, but testing with iPerf shows that a single TCP connection can achieve only 100..120 Mbps. I can get up to ~930 Mbps between wired clients across the MoCA bridge, but only in aggregate by using multiple TCP connections.

After the first few connections, the bandwidth of individual connections drops off slowly, but aggregate bandwidth keeps rising until the bridge is saturated with 15..18 simultaneous connections.

This is in contrast to Ethernet where a single TCP connection can use all the bandwidth.