What's new

Multiple PC Online Gaming

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Nighthawk70

New Around Here
Hi all, new here. A little background, I've been in IT for over 15 years. I'm a developer and have done some, very little, network support. So I know a enough to set everything up at home, but not enough to be good at it. I sure hope i posted this in the right forum category as I figure this is more of a LAN issue than a router specific. Although it could be.. ?? Thats why I'm posting this.

I think, no I know, I'm having issues with something network related. I'd try to label it but again I don't know enough to even diagnose what my problem is. Hence this post asking for help to educate me on what to do etc. I predict what someone might say is to up my ISP bandwidth, but I want to feel confident that doing that will solve my problem before spending more money. I'd rather fix the problem than throw money at something and waste it.

I'll start with the why: In my house there are at times 5 of us playing some form of on-line game. Wether it be first person shooters, minecraft, etc. On a normal day when either myself or one of my kids are playing solo and no one else is using the network it seems fine. It seems as though for fast paced games like first person shooters the problem exponentially worsens as reaction time is essential. I notice that there are times that the latency (if thats the right term) is just awful.

I've tried using port triggers and turning on the base QOS on the router but it almost seemed to make it worse. Maybe it was coincidence but I ended up with 'rubberbanding' in some of the online matches that i was in.