What's new

Not sure on Ubiquiti routers

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

onikage

New Around Here
Hello,

I recently moved into a new home and I'm trying to setup my home network. I currently own a Netgear R7000 router, but in my new house I have an On-Q/Legrand enclosure along with in wall Ethernet throughout. The enclosure is relatively small and I was thinking of putting a wired router in there with a switch and putting the Netgear in AP mode in a centralized room.

My problem is that I am having trouble choosing a router. I see the Ubiquiti line of Edge routers get rave reviews for their sheer power, but there are rumblings of manageability issues. I am an IT professional, but at home I don't like to spend a lot of time tinkering with things beyond initial setup. Considering all the devices I have, you wouldn't believe that statement, but still I'm used to consumer router setup and go. I get frustrated when I have to stop what I'm doing and spend 1-2 hours changing settings or researching things. The CLI would make it feel even more like work :)

I use UPnP and Port Forwarding when that fails to get my game consoles NAT free and sometimes tinker with the wireless radio channels. I don't currently use QoS or any other advanced features. Is there anything out there besides the Ubiquiti routers that are almost as good, but easier to manage? Or have they updated their GUI to the point that you can access most of these things through it?

TL;DR
  • Need a router that is easy to manage for use in a small wiring closet
  • Used w/switch for 6 Ethernet runs to rooms
  • Netgear R7000 as WAP placed in one of the rooms
  • Cable internet @ 125 MBps with my own Arris sb6183 modem