1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Phicomm K3C AC1900 MU-MIMO Gigabit Router Reviewed

Discussion in 'Wireless Article Discussions' started by thiggins, Mar 20, 2018.

  1. psychopomp1

    psychopomp1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks! Sorry, another question: i believe the LCD display on the K3 displays your actual download/upload speeds, how often does the router update this? This is actually quite a cool feature, I wish more routers offered this.
     
  2. uberAC

    uberAC New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Boston
    It looks like this Phicomm is available on eBay for less than $50 and $39 on Amazon today. I've been holding off trying one, but at $39 it's probably hard to beat.
     
  3. psychopomp1

    psychopomp1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    UK
    Yeah at that price it was too good to turn down. I ended up paying £80 in total (incl shipping & taxes) to UK, expecting to receive it this week. Will post my feedback once its up and running :)
     
  4. psychopomp1

    psychopomp1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    UK
    Received the K3 (b1 hardware) a few days ago and have been using it on my 330 Mbps FTTH line. My impressions so far:

    Positives:
    - Great build quality, looks great, not too big. Probably the best looking router out there.
    - Firmware is pretty slick. Everything works as it should, making changes take effect immediately.
    - Firmware has VPN client built-in and when I used this with my vpn.ac subscription, I got around 150 Mbps on a L2TP connection, so no issues there.
    - Comes with a 100-240v power supply so can be used worldwide (I am in UK)

    Negatives:
    - Has only 3 LAN ports. Not an issue for me but I suspect for many, that will be too low.
    - Wifi range/coverage isn't that great even with beamforming & Mu-Mimo switched on. In my 4 bedroom home with wafer thin walls, wifi speed tests on my iPhone X go as low as 150 Mbps in the farthest corners. Yet both the Netgear R6300v2 and Linksys EA9500v2 give me the full 300 Mbps on my iphone no matter where I am in the home.

    I think I will keep the router because for the price I paid - £80 - its not a bad router at all. I will probably keep it as a spare router (eg for testing) and may use it again if/when Phicomm update their firmware (last one was from April 2018) to see if wifi performance has been improved.

    Hope this helps :)
     
  5. psychopomp1

    psychopomp1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    UK
    Ok an update: have re-plugged the K3 in and changed to wifi channel width to 40MHz and 80 MHz on the 2.4 and 5ghz bands respectively. This has improved the wifi speeds, almost on a par with the EA9500v2. I will keep using the K3 as its far more living room friendly = wife friendly :)

    [​IMG]

    Couple of minor issues:

    1) The display on the router lists my speed as xx KB/s yet it should be around 40 MB/s or 310 Mb/s. Not a biggie though as I have the display to switch off after 5 mins.

    2) The K3 iOS smartphone app only appears to be on USA app store, not outside (eg here in UK). Again not a biggie as I'm using a PC browser to config the router.
     
  6. Above&Beyonder

    Above&Beyonder New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Hello; Do you guys think it's worth spending an extra $33 on the K3 vs the K3C on amazon? I'm looking for an AP that will have more range that my current Asus 1900P.
     
  7. psychopomp1

    psychopomp1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    UK
    Definitely. Though the K3 can be purchased for less than $50 on ebay - I bought mine for $40.
     
  8. Above&Beyonder

    Above&Beyonder New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    What was your sellers username on eBay? I see one for $50 but he has 0 feedback so it doesn't seem legit.
     
  9. psychopomp1

    psychopomp1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    UK
    I bought mine from ebay seller nonastar555 for $49.99 but I've noticed the seller has jacked up the price to $102 now. Cheaper to buy it from amazon.com for around $80 at present.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Above&Beyonder

    Above&Beyonder New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Hello; would you be able to test the range of the K3 vs K3C when it arrives please? Super interested to know which one has more range.
     
  11. Above&Beyonder

    Above&Beyonder New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Does anyone think the K3 would have better range than the K3C?
     
  12. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    174
    for the record, I still don't recommend this router. I went to check phicomm's website to see if they had ever updated the firmware.... and their site was down. hopefully just temporary?


    you're not missing anything with the smartphone app. it's basically just a repackaged version of the mobile web interface. I just my phone's web browser.

    As for K3 vs K3C... there's no inherent reason why one should have better range. They have a similar number of antennae in a similar configuration. And I don't think the broadcom vs intel chips are obviously better in terms of range. Not saying there aren't differences, but they shouldn't be too large.
     
  13. CrystalLattice

    CrystalLattice Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    Vero Beach, FL
    It's been reported that the K3 (not K3C) performs better wifi-wise with beamforming turned off. Give it a go!

    Also, K3 is 4x4 with faster processor and mainstream chips, which will have openwrt available in near future
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2019
  14. hcker2p00

    hcker2p00 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    any one have steps to getting a 3rd party firmware running on the k3? ddwrt, openwrt, im not picky
     
  15. CrystalLattice

    CrystalLattice Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    Vero Beach, FL
    already running openwrt from factory, cant get intel sdk for radios
     
  16. hcker2p00

    hcker2p00 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Did they just re-skin openwrt? From this install guide it looks like there are some restrictions like it only using the 192.168.2.* range
     
  17. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    174
    yeah their firmware is based on openwrt, you can even download source from their website.

    but it excludes the driver for the radio, which is a binary from Intel. on some chinese boards there is a guy that has obtained the driver from.... sonewhere, and gotten open wrt to work. i haven't tried it myself
     
  18. hcker2p00

    hcker2p00 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Ahh gotcha I'm more interested in running openwrt on the K3 rather than the K3C. Either way are there instructions on how to flash either model? I'm seeing its showing a tftp which I have never done before.
     
  19. banz

    banz Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    It's only $34.34 on amazon now.
     
  20. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    174
    I don't know Chinese and Google translate couldn't quite explain it well enough for me.


    As for the price drop... well I dont think I'd get this for almost any price. Phicomm hasn't updated firmware in a year. So no security patches if you use it as your main router. And bugs prevent it from working as an access point. And I don't kniw of a non dodgy way to get open source firmware.

    I'm keeping it in the closet in case I need a 3 port ethernet switch.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2019