What's new

RT-AC68U or RT-AC86U

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

bleets

New Around Here
Hi.
I'm looking for a new router for my parents to replace their failling TP-Link.

As I've been running at RT-AC68U for quite a few years now with little issue I was looking at getting them the same.

The RT-AC68U is currently £119 but I've noticed the RT-AC86U is currently £136...

Is the 86U a better buy at £17 more? Is the reliability similar to the 68U?

Basically should I get the 86U instead of the 68U? :)

Thanks for any advice you can provide.

Hi.
I'm looking for a new router for my parents to replace their failling TP-Link.

As I've been running at RT-AC68U for quite a few years now with little issue I was looking at getting them the same.

The RT-AC68U is currently £119 but I've noticed the RT-AC86U is currently £136...

Is the 86U a better buy at £17 more? Is the reliability similar to the 68U?

Basically should I get the 86U instead of the 68U? :)

Thanks for any advice you can provide.
For parents, I would recommend you stick with tried and true AC68U. They won’t want to deal with potential issues some people encounter with a AC86U.

Give them your 68U and buy yourself the 86U.

The RT-AC66U_B1 is recommended over the RT-AC68U. :)

Do what @dave14305 suggests: get the RT-AC86U for yourself and gift your parents the longstanding, but now old (but stable) champ.

For parents, I would recommend you stick with tried and true AC68U. They won’t want to deal with potential issues some people encounter with a AC86U.

Give them your 68U and buy yourself the 86U.

Howdy, thanks for your reply...

What issues have people have with the AC86U? I've been googling around and havent really come across anything...