1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

SSHFS for AC56U ??

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by heliosone, Apr 18, 2019.

  1. heliosone

    heliosone Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    is there any way to use/get sshfs on this router ?
     
  2. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    5,425
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Install Entware with amtm or some other way.
    Then run
    Code:
    opkg install sshfs
     
  3. heliosone

    heliosone Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    im using quite a bit optware stuff,is there a way to use entware parallel or get only one entware package alone ?
    Or.. can I still use the optware packages(which are NOT available on entware) when changing over to entware ?
     
  4. martinr

    martinr Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,804
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    The definitive answer:
    “You can't have both Optware(and/or Download Master) and Entware configured at the sametime, they are mutually exclusive.”
    https://www.snbforums.com/threads/asuswrt-merlin-378-51-beta-1-is-out.23077/page-6#post-169976
     
    L&LD likes this.
  5. heliosone

    heliosone Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    ok,but can I switch to entware,and then i.e. manually transfer transmission from the backuped optware folder into entware ?
    I mean opt/ent ware are just package managers right ?
    If I transfer transmissions files correctly (libraries to libraries /bin to bin / and so on...) can I still use it under entware ?
    or ,as Im only needing ONE entware package => can I get the sshfs entware package,and extract/install it manually into optware ?
     
  6. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,084
    I don't think that will work. Try the following.

    • Backup your files from the jffs partition and from your USB drive.
    • Remove/uninstall all scripts/processes currently running from your USB drive.
    • Safely remove your USB drive and format it on a computer (NTFS).
    • Select 'Format jffs partition on next reboot' and then reboot three times in the next 15 minutes or so, waiting 5 to 10 minutes between reboots.
    • Install amtm
    • Insert the USB drive and format with amtm to Ext4 with journaling. Make sure you give the USB drive a Label too.
    • Create a swap file on the USB drive, using amtm.
    • Using amtm, enable the disk checker utility.
    • Install Diversion and let it install Entware and pixelserv-tls too. You can disable Diversion later if you don't want to use it.
    • Exit amtm and enter 'opkg install sshfs'.
    • See the following link to properly install Transmission in Entware.
    • https://github.com/RMerl/asuswrt-merlin/wiki/Installing-Transmission-through-Entware
    After the above is installed and confirmed working, reboot the router and verify it continues to do so.
     
  7. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    5,425
    Location:
    Switzerland
    None of hat works. It's either Optware or Entware you use.
     
  8. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    8,300
    Location:
    UK
    Wrong. They are package managers for their own repositories. All the packages in those repositories are compiled to a specific environment (libraries, etc.).

    That said, if transmission has a plain text config file you could probably copy that over to your new Entware environment with minimal editing.