What's new

Trying to port trunk a Dell PowerConnect 2716 to a HP ProCurve 1810-24G V2

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

HotFix

Occasional Visitor
Greetings!

I first want to say I am not a network engineer. I am a server/system engineer so all of my knowledge of network (what little I have) has come as a result of working with networks as a port consumer. So if I use the wrong term or am doing something backwards, please be patient with me. :)

I am trying to port trunk port 23 & 24 on the HP to ports 15 an 16 on the Dell.

I have configured ports 15 & 16 as members of LAG Group 1 on the Dell.

I have configured ports 23 & 24 as members of Trunk 1 on the HP. I have configured the trunk as a Static trunk since the Dell doesn't support LACP.

I have connected Port 15 to port 23 with a Cat5e cable, and port 16 to 24 with a Cat5e cable.

I have a DLINK Router plugged into the Dell with one cable because that is my Verizon Fios connection.

I have a NetGear wireless router (configured as a bridge only) plugged into my HP with one cable as that is the wireless in my environment.

I only have VLAN 1 defined on the Dell switch as that is my "production" network. VLAN 1 is also defined on the HP switch as is another VLAN 100 which is what I am going to use for iSCSI. The HP has VLAN 1 set up as the "U"ntagged VLAN on all ports, and right now VLAN 100 is "E"xcluded on all ports since I don't have any iSCSI devices today. I hope I said that right.

I have not enabled Spanning Tree protection on my HP because there is no corresponding setting on my Dell and I have not created any loops as everything is one big daisy chain. I.E. NetGear <--> HP <--> Dell <--> DLINK.