1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Unable to access router page

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by Chris313AllNight, Jun 20, 2018.

  1. Chris313AllNight

    Chris313AllNight Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    I don't check my router every day, but a few days ago, I used the router app on my phone just for giggles, it found my 86U, but when signing in to it, it said authentication failed. I didn't think much of it since I was using the web interface fine. Until yesterday, I was checking the router webpage, but the 192 standard address that's always been used, doesn't work. Not from the computer, I've checked multiple browsers. Nor from my phone.

    While I can't access the router, everything still works.

    Anyone being hit with this problem? How do you get around it? I'm using 384.4_2
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. jtp10181

    jtp10181 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    Have you restarted it? Maybe the http server crashed.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Billy Chaney likes this.
  4. Marin

    Marin Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Using HTTPS, perhaps? Start by clearing your browser cache first then see if the problem repeats.
     
  5. Chris313AllNight

    Chris313AllNight Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Solved. Wish I'd have done this before posting. Turned it off for a minute, turned it back on and bang. Working again.
     
    Billy Chaney likes this.
  6. Lee Chyng Wei

    Lee Chyng Wei New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    i faced this issue once... internet connection is working fine but router app and web gui failed... rebooted the router and it works again...
     
  7. Grisu

    Grisu Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    493
    SSH to the router and service restart_httpd will do it without reboot, happens often to me on 68U and sometimes on 86U.
     
    cmkelley likes this.
  8. Lee Chyng Wei

    Lee Chyng Wei New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    noted.. thanks for the tip..
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!