Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

UPnP - Multiple Xbox One Gaming Consoles & NAT

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by BiggShooter, Oct 21, 2016.

  1. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Australia
    Sony their confusing as hell, Microsoft has a simple naming convention open is the best upnp worked, every thing is perfect, but Sony no they have to be cryptic.
     
  2. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Australia
    I don't have a tunnel for ipv4 to 6, also symmetric is the most secure nat from my research it should relax any one who's worried about security and silence their concerns if something has an issue just add a masquerade rule like the guys did on miniupnp forums to fix multiple consoles nat errors. Also thnx for the commands.
    But it doesn't seem to work either, seems like id have to put this in a script and reboot the router with it. in order to get it to function correctly.
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2017
  3. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Australia
    Speaking of port forwards not appearing in upnp, I sem to have that issue with battle born on pc it throws up moderate nat but no ports are present in upnp which is odd.
     
  4. sm00thpapa

    sm00thpapa Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,713
    What I don't understand is that on an Xbox One with Moderate NAT I have issues joining people and talking. But on the PS4 with a Type 2 NAT which is the best I can get I have no issues at all while gaming. And this coming from Sony is if you are using a router connected to a modem you will always get a Type 2 NAT which in 99% of the cases you will have no issues. Now they say if you plug into a modem directly that is the only way to get a Type 1 NAT. I am going to have to test this and see what NAT type I get.
     
    BiggShooter likes this.
  5. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Australia
    That's confusing, Sony is not clear it's not like they say type two is open nat behind a router, also is your modem in bridge mode?
    My xbox gets open nat both one and 360 consoles. Sony is being confusing about their naming convention, its not very clear.
    Also I believe that in the case of Xbox that its directly tied to wether or not the port was forwarded by upnp or not, and I have a theory that its also dependant on the port number the router allowed it to have on both the internal and external ranges, I noticed before merlins masquerade rules if the external port number was different to the internal id get moderate nat, and also I seem to not be in the right port range for game clients, this is in regards to black ops 3, I'm starting to think the same case with xbox if the internal and external ports don't match, you'll have an issue, unless there's a masquerade rule in place to fix the port translation, keep in mind this is just my speculation and experience.
    I also believe that the ps4 might be incorrectly detecting nat status, eg, gta v on pc reads moderate nat, yet on my old router it read open nat which makes not sense since the port number is open on both external and internal but reads moderate when it should read open like cod does when the port has been forwarded by upnp.
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2017
  6. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23,907
    Location:
    Canada
    Precisely. It's not arcane science to ask through UPnP to forward a port, and then instruct remote clients to use that forwarded port. If a console OS or a game is broken, then it's the one that should be fixed.
     
    Vexira likes this.
  7. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Australia
    that's only one factor of the over all issue, the other factor is poor upnp support in isp routers which a lot of people have. Also is there any benefit to setting upnp external port to 1024 over the default of 1?
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2017
  8. sm00thpapa

    sm00thpapa Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,713
    I have my ISP's modem/router combo in bridge mode with the R7800 connected right now. UPNP is enabled.
     
  9. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Australia
    actually I beg to differ its not as simple as your understanding leads you to believe, type 2 nat if its equivalent moderate can indicate an issue with port translation, ive seen this behaviour in cod black ops 3 on pc, as in if the game client gets 3074 internal >3076 external with out a masquerade rule for proper translation you get moderate nat therefore inducing connection issues.
    like a stated before I have no dmz or port forwarding rules just pure upnp with the masquerade rules merlin set in place, and I get open nat on both my steam copes of black ops 3 infinite warfare and modern warfare remastered. I have never had any "security issues" open nat . as merlin stated before if a rogue program wanted to exploit upnp, its already game over, my network is toast.
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2017
  10. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Australia
    ah awesome, did you set nat filtering to open or is it on secured?,
     
  11. sm00thpapa

    sm00thpapa Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,713
    I checked the R7800 and no where can I find anything about NAT filtering. All I have is a UPNP page enable or disable.
     
  12. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Australia
  13. sm00thpapa

    sm00thpapa Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,713
  14. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Australia
    when I had the r8000 I used to set it to open, in order to get an open ant reading in games and the xbox.
     
  15. sm00thpapa

    sm00thpapa Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,713
    I always get Open NAT with secured checked.
     
  16. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Australia
    ahh I see they changed it, must have fixed nat filtering, my r8000 even with open got moderate nat after a firmware update, then it stopped loading webpages properly, net gear replaced it then I have the same issue with the replacement unit so I returned them got a refund then I got an 88u. That was the 3rd net gear unit I had with nat issues I had a wnr1000v2 used to give me strict nat, and a d6300 before that.
     
  17. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Australia
    @FreshJR , I think I now understand what you mean about PlayStation nat type, disregard my previous ranting, this makes more sense to me, I think what you were trying to say was that nat is still open behind type 2 but the console is behind a private ip, like I said still confusing, I still whish they used the standard convention.

    Type 1: PS4 is connected directly to the internet (public IP address / No NAT)
    Type 2: PS4 is connected to a router (private IP address / NAT)
    Type 3: Same as type 2, but due to firewall or other restrictions, you may have issues
    https://www.reddit.com/r/PS4/comments/2bl9ec/why_cant_i_get_an_open_nat_type_1/
     
  18. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Australia
  19. e38BimmerFN

    e38BimmerFN Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    321
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, don't know why MS and Sony can't use same kind of naming convention, would be a bit easier for every one. Sony has been like this since the beginning.

     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2017
  20. e38BimmerFN

    e38BimmerFN Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    321
    Location:
    USA
    Sony has been like this since the beginning with this naming convention. Something different and it's confusing.
    NAT 2 will be always behind a router thats connected to the ISP modem for SONY.

    Test this out by connecting your game console directly to the ISP Modem.

     

Share This Page