1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

[384.8_Alpha - builds] Testing all variants.

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by DonnyJohnny, Oct 11, 2018.

  1. skeal

    skeal Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    2,011
    Location:
    /etc
    On the Wireless Log page there is a new feature to open low level information. I noticed that both 2.4 and 5G show "0" as a value for RSSI and SNR, however the information is displayed accurately under the station information table. Everything else seems to be ok on that popup.
     
    JohnSmith, D_Day and taffeys like this.
  2. taffeys

    taffeys Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    I am seeing the exact same "0" values as you report. Good catch. So far this release seems very stable and wifi performance has been great.
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2018
    Kingp1n and skeal like this.
  3. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    28,270
    Location:
    Canada
    Ignore the description, the Roaming Assistant is part of the base firmware.
     
    JohnSmith and visortgw like this.
  4. D_Day

    D_Day Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    105
    I did a dirty upgrade over the second revision alpha 1 36 hours ago and i have not had a single issue!
    I have had this error kernel: [tdts_shell_ioctl_stat:256] Recv ioctl req with op 2 since updating to 384.7 final and couldn’t get rid of it, even with numerous factory resets but now it’s gone :)
     
    scjr likes this.
  5. jksmurf

    jksmurf Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Just wanted to add a data point for Alpha2; I still get, like 384.7 before it, a "Disconnected" notification whilst actually having Internet connectivity. This having done a restore to factory default settings after flashing, with minimum setup; just WAN and Wireless Settings. Appreciate it is probably some compatibility with my ISP, but it is very frustrating. Logs as linked (not sure why I can't add as a txt file). I note some weird swapping of the time by GMT offset (8hrs) too.

    btw what happened to the "dns rebind protection" setting in the GUI?

    Back to 384.5 I go. :)

    LOGS: https://ufile.io/zycij
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 7, 2018
  6. D_Day

    D_Day Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    105
    DNS rebind protection is now under Lan and dhcp server tab.
     
    jksmurf likes this.
  7. jksmurf

    jksmurf Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Cheers. I read somewhere in SNB it might help with keeping hold of the ISP DNS Servers (clearly I am grasping at straws), so wanted to try anything ...
     
    D_Day likes this.
  8. skeal

    skeal Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    2,011
    Location:
    /etc
    There is a setting on the Tools other settings page.
    Code:
    Wan: Use DNS probes to determine if WAN is up (default: Yes)
    Try this set to no, and reboot. It may help.
     
  9. GHammer

    GHammer Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    144
  10. GHammer

    GHammer Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    144
    Yes, it is present there as well. So, no new issue with .8 builds.
     
  11. dave14305

    dave14305 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    44
    You have a very short DHCP lease time from your ISP (30 minutes). Is that normal for you?
     
  12. jksmurf

    jksmurf Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Yup; I have been watching that over the last couple of weeks. Sometimes after a reboot they only give me 10 minutes....
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Sonyrolfy

    Sonyrolfy Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Small Q, I'm not seeing Cert keys for my open vpn client after import, I'm connected tough and all seems fine. Trouble is after a new VPN provider search i had to adjust the keys manually and could not see them after a save. First i thought it was the new VPN provider, after a search from my standard VPN provider i couldn't see any keys as well. I did a reset a fresh install of Alpha 2 and 3 and couldn't see the keys there and tried different browsers. I reverted back to the official Asus firmware and there i could see the keys. But that's not want i want due to the flexibility of Merlin. Anyone else have this? if not, any recommendations? Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  14. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    28,270
    Location:
    Canada
    It's a bug in this alpha, pre-release build. The issue is already fixed on my end, you will have to wait for the next public build, or compile an updated build yourself.
     
  15. Sonyrolfy

    Sonyrolfy Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Good to know its bug in this pre-release alpha build and will be fixed. Thanks for the efforts Merlin!
     
  16. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,397
    Location:
    Australia
    port forwarding log is not working, on my 88u as well as upnp, is being intermittent even though a forward works after multiple attempts nothing still shows up.
     
  17. TheOldMan

    TheOldMan Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    USA
    @RMerlin , I self compiled the commits as of 9 November. It compiled good. Running this compilation in RT-AC86U now. Thanks!
     
    scjr likes this.
  18. Sanna1967

    Sanna1967 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Canada
    Same here.
    Self compiled from commit ed033af, work fine on Ac86U , almost 2 days uptime
     
    skeal and scjr like this.
  19. scjr

    scjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    467
    Location:
    "While I Breathe, I Hope"
    Upgraded to alpha 3, over previous build. Running smoothly thus far.
     
    JohnSmith and skeal like this.
  20. ppfoong

    ppfoong Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    GPL 384.32799 is now available :)