1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

AiMish Using 2.4GHZ Band Only

Discussion in 'ASUSWRT - Official' started by Neil62, Jun 20, 2018.

  1. Neil62

    Neil62 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Is there anybody out there running AiMesh using only the 2.4GHZ band? The reason I ask is that depending on your environment 5GHZ bands are next to useless, i.e. distance, penetrations of signal, etc. But after my testing it would seem that AiMesh cannot run only on a single band (2.4 GHZ)....how impracticable is that? Forced to run multiple bands in different environments (environment dependent of course where they are useful), in my environment, the higher ban/s are slower, connection strength, transit/receive level, are low. But of course devices will still connect to the 5GHZ bands, based on signal strength, but in reality they are slower, than the 2.4GHZ band. So ya, I want to disable the 5ghz band/s and ya, there is warning about that for AiMesh, OK great, but in my environment, I have better speed and connectivity only using the 2.4GHZ band. So for AiMesh, you are forced to use all Bands? Can AiMesh run on any single band only?

    It would seem from AiMesh, this does not work (single band, 2.4GHZ only, my environment)...i.e disabling the 5GHZ band/s....it will allow with warning, but nodes are then disconnecting....So same question again, for Aimesh, all bands must be enabled? regardless of their usefulness? Sort of like, an all of nothing then...

    While I am in that mood, where are guest accounts on nodes? Still not able to do this....this is a necessity in some environments...

    And ya, I know before anyone replies, yes, so don't use AiMesh.....
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2018
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. arthurlien

    arthurlien Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    512
    Suggestion: Use different SSID for 2.4G and 5G.
     
  4. Neil62

    Neil62 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Thanks for that, I had already given that some thought
     
  5. agilani

    agilani Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    248
    Don't know if you saw my post on aimesh vs repeater. I got aimesh setup on 5ghz backhaul and 2.4ghz ssid broadcast. AiMesh ends up sharing the exact same channel across all of the nodes. Meaning all of the nodes are sharing the exact same 2.4ghz channel and subsequently sharing throughput.

    My current setup is an ac88u which connects to two different ac68u repeaters using the 5ghz band. I then have all three broadcasting their own 2.4ghz ssid which is where i connect most of my devices to saving the 5ghz for mostly controlled traffic backhaul from the repeaters and a few other devices. The repeaters are connecting to the ac88 at 1053 to 1300mb/s so the performance is pretty decent. I also avoid putting most of the slower wireless devices on the 5ghz band so they don't slow down the router/bridge connections.

    This way i have pretty much complete coverage without the headache of aimesh.
     
  6. Neil62

    Neil62 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Thanks for the reply. The main reason I want to try and stick to using AiMesh is for the centralized management across the whole system. And yep its a long way from perfect yet, but each firmware upgrades are at least stabilizing it. The annoying/disappointing part, at least for me, is the lack of new functionality being introduced. As a starting point for me, of improved functionality:
    1. Guest accounts on Nodes
    2. Ability to view band connections of clients connected to nodes via the web GUI
    3. Schedule/manual reboot of nodes via the web GUI
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!