What's new

Any of these really helps with security or privacy?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Almighty_Denny

Occasional Visitor
As said on a previous post of mine, I'm still beginning in the world of networking, so I got some doubts about the highs and lows and technical features of some services that are supposed to help with privacy and/or security. To be honest I got many questions, I hope I won't be much of a hassle for this, lol

First of all, I haven't still totally understood how a Proxy and a VPN works.
If there are some references, manuals or guides about that I would be pleased to check them out.

Also, which one of those is more secure or private?
Should we casual home users give priority to not being recognized in the web, or to be secure from external attacks?
And as the title said, any of these services are actually helpful when talking about security/privacy?

On the other hand, I've been told about Tor browser and network, but again, I don't totally get how it works and what exactly is an Onion service.

Any help with any of those topics will be very much appreciated, and thanks in advance.
I really would like to know more about IT and networking.

I haven't still totally understood how a Proxy and a VPN works.

I think Google (or your own favourite search engine) really would be the best bet for the basic information search to help you understand what the MANY terms you've heard actually stand for. Not much point in explaining how to set all these things up until you decide which one(s) you actually want to use.