What's new

Apple TC died - what to replace it with (go with R7800)?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

yot

New Around Here
Hi all,

very newbie here. I've had Time Capsule for 6-8 years (A1355) and no issues whatsoever until it just died. So I stepped into this mess that is which router to pick :-O Given what the current rankings say (R7800) or what thewirecutter says (R7000P) in my budget (UK, <£200), should I get one of these or simply a newer Apple Time Capsule (A1470)? My setup:

Small home (120sqm), 1 floor, 3 older iPhones, 3 older Macbook Pros, Roku wirelessly for Netflix, 3 Sonos speakers, Synology 2 bay NAS, shared printer, Kindle. Like I said, I had almost no issues with the current network except occasional hiccups when streaming via Roku on TV. I used even older Airport Express (>8 years old) on the ground floor as an extender, but honestly I don't think it was necessary.

I am fine ditching the "Time Capsule" part of the Apple router, which is why I am considering a "proper" router. I am this close from ordering R7000P, but I thought after I had done due diligence I'd ask. The most important factor for me is that all my current networked devices would work with minimal hassle. Then it's the speed (I assume any modern router I'd get would be faster than my old TC). Current price difference between new 7800 and 7000 is £20. New Apple TC 2Tb is £300 (!) but used can be had for half this price.

I'd be very grateful for your comments.
yot

Last edited: