Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

ASUS DSL AC-68U big problems

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by frankidem, Aug 20, 2017.

  1. frankidem

    frankidem Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    I have a big problem with my asus dsl ac-68u .The device restarts on its own and many times never comes back to "life" until i press the on/off button. Please help.Attached you can find logs
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,510
    Location:
    UK
    Reflash the firmware and then reconfigure it manually.
     
  3. frankidem

    frankidem Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    I did it but the problem not resolved

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk
     
  4. pete y testing

    pete y testing Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    victoria, australia

    do a full factory reset and run the install wizard again

    also try another power adapter of the same voltage and power rating as the asus power supplies can go faulty
     
  5. frankidem

    frankidem Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    I did factory reset and nvram clean no result.
    I try another power adapter but nothing the problem is still here.

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk
     
  6. pete y testing

    pete y testing Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    victoria, australia

    sounds like you fried it , if still under warranty RMA it and return for checking / replacement
     
  7. frankidem

    frankidem Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Fried it? How I can fried it? No I have it 3 years

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk
     
  8. pete y testing

    pete y testing Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    victoria, australia
    power surge , lightning , brown outs etc etc , if its 3 years old its no longer under warranty and its prob time for a new one

    its one of the reasons i prefer a separate cheap bridged modem and a separate better wireless router , if you get phone line surges the cheap bridge modem takes the hit and leave your expensive wireless router alone
     
  9. frankidem

    frankidem Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    I do not think is fried I downgrade the firmware and the problem frequency of the restarts is not the same.

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk
     
  10. pete y testing

    pete y testing Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    victoria, australia
    it shouldnt restart at all , so there is something wrong , ether its over heating or a memory leak or a power supply issue but its not normal , it may not be a brick but its pretty useless if it reboots all the time
     
  11. frankidem

    frankidem Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Can i do something to test hardware ?
     
  12. pete y testing

    pete y testing Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    victoria, australia
    not really , send it back to the manufacturer for testing but otherwise sounds like its time for a new one
     
  13. psychopomp1

    psychopomp1 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    UK
    The DSL-AC68U is well known in the UK for having a notoriously unstable xDSL modem (Mediatek) so this could be your source of your issue if you are using the modem component on this router. I would bin it and get a Broadcom or Lantiq based modem router such as Asus DSL-AC88U, Netgear D7800, Tplink VR900 etc.
     
  14. pete y testing

    pete y testing Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    victoria, australia
    perhaps on long adsl lines over 2.5km , but on shorter lines its fine

    really !!!


    thats problematic in both its modem and wifi


    pass , its a tp link and its poor gui and security coding
     
  15. maple_1994

    maple_1994 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    You can try to downgrade to the last firmware. If it still has this problem, it's must caused by hardware.
     

Share This Page