1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

ASUS RT-AC1900P Dual-band Wireless-AC1900 Gigabit Router Reviewed

Discussion in 'Wireless Article Discussions' started by thiggins, Dec 19, 2016.

  1. Makaveli

    Makaveli Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    683
    Location:
    Canada

    What is this set to Reducing USB 3.0 interference?
     
  2. corky

    corky New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Ha, that worked! For one file transfer. After that it was back to normal. I also tried turning 2.4G off completely, same thing. usb xfers slow and sometimes stop entirely. I also tried rebooting with a power cycle instead of from the gui after reading stome other people's problems with this, but it did not help. This is the second one unit I've tried, so I think I'll just return it and forget about getting nas included with my router. Instead I'll get something cheaper that does a solid job at the basic job of being a router.

    Thanks for your help though.
     
  3. Luboknok

    Luboknok Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    61
    Do all AC1900Ps have the 1.4ghz clock? I've seen mixed reports. Furthermore does the extra 400ghz make a real world improvement for onboard VPN and routing?
     
  4. CaptainSTX

    CaptainSTX Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,396
    Running N66 OpenVPN ClkFrq 600 VPN = 15

    Running AC1900P OpenVPN ClkFrq 1400 VPN = 55

    Pfsense I7 - 1.8 ghz - Turbo 3.0 Ghz OpenVPN = 14o+
     
  5. Luboknok

    Luboknok Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    61
    Thank you Captain! I've been thinking how great it would be if PFSense could run inside consumer routers with open sourced firmware.
     
  6. CaptainSTX

    CaptainSTX Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,396
    Its not Pfsense that makes it faster, it is the fact that you can run Pfsense on PC grade processors, with higher clock rates. You don't find this type of processor in SOHO grade routers because most people are not running VPNs and also do not have 100 Mbps or faster connections.
     
    Makaveli likes this.
  7. FestiveFuneral

    FestiveFuneral New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks for disseminating this!

    Does anyone know why the UDP performance on the AC1900P is so much worse when everything else is marginally better? Seems really strange.

    Do you need to open up the box to see the hardware version? What's the difference between V3 and the B ones?
     
  8. Rumboogy

    Rumboogy Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    As a data point, I bought two RT-AC1900Ps from the Best Buy in San Carlos CA and both are hardware rev. B2.
     
  9. Rumboogy

    Rumboogy Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    pacoinconn,

    To respond to your post 6 months after the fact - I also experienced your item 1. This caused me to waste a few hours when I got the device. What happens is that sometime when you are in the "Quick Internet Setup" the device will pop up a window asking you to sign in. Because you have already entered a new user name and password you enter those but it fails. What you need to do in this situation is to use the router's default user name and password which is admin/admin. Then you can proceed on with the Quick Internet Setup.

    Why does it ask you for your user name and password in the middle of Quick Internet Setup - who knows. Why does this only happen sometimes during Quick Internet Setup- who knows. Why does it only apply your new user name and password at the end of the Quick Internet Setup - who knows. But I do know that using admin/admin can get you past this confusing point.
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2017
  10. Rhialto

    Rhialto Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    144
    Do we know which antenna is for which band or all 3 serve both 2.4 & 5GHz?
     
  11. sm00thpapa

    sm00thpapa Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,752
    All 3 run both radios.
     
  12. Rhialto

    Rhialto Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    144
    Ok thanks. Tried different orientations while having a smartphone on second floor with a meter to see if I would get better or worse signal but not much I could figure out trying _ \ and |
     
  13. sm00thpapa

    sm00thpapa Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,752
    I usually keep my center antenna vertical and the sides at a 45 degree angle for best wireless coverage.