1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

ASUS RT-AC5300

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by madhatter01, Mar 27, 2015.

  1. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    14,047
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I would give the factory antennas a decent run first before considering any upgrades - many of the third party antennas are a poor match in any event, and I've found many that suggest 5dB (or more) and none have actually met those promises in a test environment (lab bench/RF chamber).
     
  2. kvic

    kvic Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    2,444
    Location:
    22.4399N 114.2222E
    If you insist, ask asus to wire money to Merlin instead.

    Save shipping and reduce co2 footprint is the responsible thing to do. Paris is holding perhaps the most important meeting for this century btw...
     
  3. RamGuy

    RamGuy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    240
    How does this one perform compared to the RT-AC3200? The Smart Connect on the RT-AC3200 has been horrible, to say the least. It's not even close to being anything remotely close to stable in terms of wireless performance. Disabling Smart Connect all together helps out a lot, as the wireless NIC's form Broadcom themselves are great but that pretty much defeats the whole purpose of the Tri-Band / Smart Connect design and feature set of the router and then you would be better of with a Asus RT-AC68U.

    As I've had two RT-AC3200 die on me, and considering the Smart Connect is not really working at all I'm not going to get myself another RT-AC3200.. So I'm considering if it's worth awaiting the RT-AC5300 in my country, or whether to go for the RT-AC88U instead which is expected to get launched in my country any day now. If the Smart Connect is still tosh I would much rather go fort the RT-AC88U as paying extra for the RT-AC5300 is basically like tossing money out of the window at that point.


    And how does the whole WTFast thing work? Is it just marketing gimmicks.
     
  4. sm00thpapa

    sm00thpapa Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,748
    It's all marketing gimmick to steal your money. Best bet now and for the next year is stick with an AC1900 router. 4x4 and band steering is a joke.
     
  5. System Error Message

    System Error Message Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    4,079
    the 2nd gen 4x4 is less of a joke but on 2.4Ghz it is better to use a single stream than taking up all the available 2.4Ghz space with the amount of wifi around. band steering really depends on client implementation where the client perceives a better signal rather than bandwidth

    Im considering the AC88U but i havent managed to get my hands on the architectural diagrams for the AC88U and AC5300. So far ive managed to gather that ports 5-8 connect to either the CPU or switch using a 2Gb/s bidirectional link instead of 4. Other architectural problems i see with routers now that there is much faster wifi is the link 1Gb/s between the CPU and the switch chip makes the faster wifi useless when you have a mixture of clients. Im not sure if the AC5300 uses chips that connect to the switch like the AC3200 but you will need 4 GMII links at least for traffic from wifi to travel without bottlenecks on the AC5300 especially if the purpose of having 2 seperate radios to have more bandwidth for communication between wifi clients. The fault is only partially with ASUS or the manufacturer but also with broadcom for providing such a platform. Until routers provide higher bandwidth links between their components (wifi, CPU, switch) than the additional performance numbers of the components are useless as the bottleneck happens within the device. Other problems include lack of sata and SFP. VOIP also adds to the growing number of phones over internet as ISPs also provide phone lines over the internet instead of the traditional DSL lines. By not including these features in such a costly platform and eliminating bottlenecks the power and cost will increase just as GPUs (every new gen GPU is increased with a bigger price than last gen release), we will still need to rely on multiple devices which means more power usage. SFP adds flexibility which means not needing a modem. I remember a swiss ISP that provided gigabit internet before included mikrotik's router with it which even though wasnt capable of gigabit throughput had SFP on it so a seperate modem wasnt needed.

    At the cost of the 5300 you can do better using an x86 platform for pfsense and some wifi cards with a multi port NIC. A multi port NIC like the intel server quad port NIC doesnt have bottlenecks between ports and CPU and it is possible for other components to actually use the card without going through the CPU. When you add wireless NICs they too dont have bottlenecks unless you use usb2 with AC wifi.

    Another thing broadcom has had for a long while are hardware media acceleration chips that they do not include in their consumer platforms despite the usefulness in being a media server or even for encryption.
     
    sm00thpapa likes this.
  6. RamGuy

    RamGuy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    240
    PfSense is no option as it's a real headache in terms of port mapping / forwarding, reliable upnp / nat-pmp and gaming consoles and whatnot. I did have a dedicated pfSense Server before I got my Asus RT-AC66U a few months after it's release and I haven't looked back.

    PfSense is awesome and all, but it's not user-friendly in any sensible way. I managed to get everything working and it was rock solid, but dealing with a fully fledged firewall does have some downsides. Getting Xbox One, PlayStation 4 and various gaming services working 100% and automatic behind PfSense was a real drag and something I simply gave up after a while. It ended up with me having to manually port forward each and every port and service, and doing so on a home network in 2015 with all kind of devices requiring various ports open to work 100% is not something I would recommend anyway to deal with.


    I did also test things Astaro / UTM Home Edition which is a much more user-friendly solution. It does require more beefy hardware compared to PfSense but in many ways its superior to the very old school "geeky" user interface and configuration of PfSense. But as most, if not all X86 based routing / firewall solutions they have a "no secure firewall should support upnp" mentality rendering it useless for home usage in my opinion. I do understand why you from a security standpoint would not want to have upnp / nat-pmp running on your firewall, but in some situations the pure convenience outshines the added security risks, especially in a home environment.


    These Asus routers are simply awesome in-terms of their respective performance, ease to use firmware / GUI, and the fact that you get fully working upnp and everything you would love and need for home usage and they also come with some great QoS that PfSense etc simply cannot match and yet again it's so darn easy to setup and getting to work.
     
    Blind_Bandit likes this.
  7. System Error Message

    System Error Message Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    4,079
    when asus made the ac3200 they did a good job preventing bottlenecks, not so sure with the newer ones.
     
  8. toor

    toor Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    i havent tried the WTFast thing, but have been using smart connect, I'm using 2 SSIDs, one for the 2.4 and one for the 5Ghz with the 2 x 5ghz using smart connect. Its been working pretty well with the default settings; I may need to go back and tweak those settings some.
     
  9. dlandiss

    dlandiss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    474
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Galaxy S5 mobile phone, claims to support 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac VHT80, MIMO(2x2).

    Ah, that English language again. Too many pronouns. I was speaking in the statistical sense, that is that with a relatively small population of tests sets the standard deviation is a bit wide and therefore so is the confidence interval. It's like when political pollsters say 25% support a candidate, +/- 3%.

    Yes, a raw 10% increase in range would be useful if it could be verified with a narrower confidence interval.

    I would go further and say the the features of the newer hardware and firmware support beamforming. I was hoping that better microcircuit techniques would actually provide better radio S/N ratio and thus effectively improve the range even before new tricks were added.
     
  10. dlandiss

    dlandiss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    474
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Interesting! Most other sources suggest that the usual ASUS antennas are 5dBi on both bands, although I have also seen 3.5dBi quoted.
     
  11. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,495

    A mobile phone? Not very convincing anymore (the tests you ran).

    I am quite familiar with statistics. That is why I choose to ignore them, most of the time. Better is better, plain and simple. Statistics can be used to prove whatever the user wants, but that may have no meaning to the real world.

    Political pollsters are lying to everyone. They can hide behind the mathematical 'possibility' of any possible outcome. But in reality, they have no better guess at what will come down the pike than you or I.
     
    whsbuss likes this.
  12. dlandiss

    dlandiss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    474
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    And why would that be?

    So you know why decisions made on a small number of measurements (like "1") don't support much. With enough measurements and control of variables they can be quite accurate. As I recall they helped Nate Silver predict the outcome of the last presidential election within a couple of tenths of a percent, and get every state right.

    Actually they might have a pretty good idea, but are attempting to influence support by grabbing numbers out of the air. People don't need statistics to lie, but carefully applied statistics can refute lies.
     
  13. kvic

    kvic Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    2,444
    Location:
    22.4399N 114.2222E
    An industrious masterpiece of write up god sent from a parallel universe that deserves my quote in its entirety to preserve it from ending up as junk by the planet where I'm from...

    A small favor from me:
    [​IMG]
    Excerpt from SNB's review of R8500 - a well written piece from planet Earth..
     
  14. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,495

    Why? Because I don't use mobile phones to connect to any network (except for talking, of course) and for the customers that I help, I specifically tell them that the network is tuned for laptops, desktops, NAS's and any media devices they may have (wired or wireless). Hand held devices are specifically not included or guaranteed to have coverage like the other devices will.

    They are not tuned for throughput or range. They are tuned for battery savings.

    As for the statistics ramble, not even important enough to keep discussing (sorry).
     
  15. System Error Message

    System Error Message Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    4,079
    Thanks, as long as the link between the switch and CPU isnt limited to 1Gb/s and that wifi is connected to CPU than there wont be bottlenecks. PCIe is very efficient that you can use all the 250MB per lane.
     
  16. wsarahan

    wsarahan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    324
    Guys

    I'll ask again, anyone knows a place that ships this one worldwide? Really wanna buy one of these

    Thanks


    Enviado do meu iPhone usando Tapatalk
     
  17. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    30,457
    Location:
    Canada
    Buying a router outside of your local country is usually a bad idea. You need a router that is configured for your specific region.
     
  18. wsarahan

    wsarahan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    324
    Asus do not sell routers here Merlin, all my Asus routers was bought outside Brazil, since my first 66U, 87U and now the 3200 one, unfortunately that's the only way to get this products here at my country :(


    Enviado do meu iPhone usando Tapatalk
     
  19. doeboy

    doeboy Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Have you tried going to Google and typing in RT-AC5300 and then click the shopping tab? From there you can find sites that are selling them and find one that can ship it to you.
     
    wsarahan likes this.
  20. wsarahan

    wsarahan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    324
    Good idea but I need to connect to an American vpn

    Using Google itself here in Brazil don't give me any matxh/ buying option, I think it takes the geolocalization right?

    When I get home I'll try with a vpn the shopping button


    Enviado do meu iPhone usando Tapatalk