What's new

ASUS RT-AC87U - Wireless MAC Filtering Questions

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

John A

Occasional Visitor
Good day from a newbie here with a couple of questions to which I couldn't find answers here (or elsewhere to-date) on Wireless MAC filtering on the above router which I bought recently, and then updated to f/w version 3.0.0.4.382_50701.

What I would like to do is to set the filter to Accept specific trusted Wireless MAC addresses but also to Reject others because I have a suspicion that "someone" has been trying to "spy" on our network via either this router or an ethernet-connected Wireless Access Point (TP-Link TL-WA901ND) and so I would like to block certain suspicious Wireless MAC addresses (which I have identified using "Acylic Wi-Fi Home Free").

Therefore:

Question 1:

Under the "Wireless MAC Filter" in "Wireless General" I can set the MAC Filter Mode to either "Accept" or "Reject" a list of Client MAC addresses, and I have already done that to Accept those for most of the wireless devices in the house.

However, if I then try to set the Filter Mode to Reject, that list of those devices remains visible - and must I assume that it will then reject those addresses and accept anything else, as opposed to my being able to add the suspicious addresses in order to reject those?

Question 2:
Nevertheless, since I now think that I probably can't have both Wireless MAC address Accept and Reject lists, would there be any other way of selectively filtering out the suspicious ones whilst accepting the ones that I know to be valid home network devices?

Thanks in advance for any info/guidance.

1. Correct

2. Not really, but there's no need. Just change the WPA2 password on your access points.