Beta Asuswrt-Merlin 386.2 Beta is now available

  • ATTENTION! As of November 1, 2020, you are not able to reply to threads 6 months after the thread is opened if there are more than 500 posts in the thread.
    Threads will not be locked, so posts may still be edited by their authors.
    Just start a new thread on the topic to post if you get an error message when trying to reply to a thread.
Status
Not open for further replies.

TheMorpN

Regular Contributor
Also running an RT-AC5300 as master router in an AIMesh configuration with three RT-AC68U units as nodes, wireless backhaul, currently on 386.1_2 no major problems. I did have a problem after one dirty update back when I was running 384.19 in which the router would reboot every few minutes. I did a factory reset, completely nuked everything, and reinstalled from Recovery Mode. That resolved the rando reboot issues for me. Since then, I've updated several times, including from 384.19 to 386 and beyond. All of those updates have been dirty, and the router has remained stable thus far, as has the AIMesh configuration. I also had one update in which the UI was sluggish immediately post-upgrade. That condition resolved on its own after about an hour of uptime...most probably after the router completed a database update. All I can add to the conversation is to agree with New2This in suggesting a total nuke of the router, and a clean reinstall and hand reconfiguration.
Interesting. I have a similar setup (except with 2 aimesh nodes). I will try a complete reset later tonight and try again.

Thanks for the feedback.
 

kernol

Very Senior Member
Dirty from 386.2_b2 to b3 on both AX86U's - zero problems - 20+hours - all add-ons per signature running rock steady.
Thanks again to Magic Merlin and his Merry Men [and women?] :D
 

doodlenoodle

New Around Here
On 386.2 beta 3, ax86u. My connection felt like it was stuttering a bit while gaming, so essentially the connection felt worse right after I updated to latest beta release on time sensitive games.
I looked at cake settings and noticed my overhead values showed 36 instead of the expected 18. I was using "docsis" in the "cake-qos.conf.add" to have set as additional DLOPTIONS and ULOPTIONS.

It's worth noting that the overhead 18 and mpu 64 values were already defined in the GUI (so therefore reflected in the "cake-qos.conf"), the "docsis" value was added in "cake-qos.conf.add" as that's what I was used to doing when running earlier versions of cake installed from CLI.

At any rate, I thought the use of docsis would overwrite any overhead values already defined from the GUI but it doesn't seem like that's the case as can be seen from the screenshot. I removed docsis and now its back to overhead 18, so I'll leave it like that for the interim. Just noting my observations.
 

Attachments

  • Cake_QOS_docsis-overheadvalue.PNG
    Cake_QOS_docsis-overheadvalue.PNG
    78.4 KB · Views: 48

dave14305

Part of the Furniture
On 386.2 beta 3, ax86u. My connection felt like it was stuttering a bit while gaming, so essentially the connection felt worse right after I updated to latest beta release on time sensitive games.
I looked at cake settings and noticed my overhead values showed 36 instead of the expected 18. I was using "docsis" in the "cake-qos.conf.add" to have set as additional DLOPTIONS and ULOPTIONS.

It's worth noting that the overhead 18 and mpu 64 values were already defined in the GUI (so therefore reflected in the "cake-qos.conf"), the "docsis" value was added in "cake-qos.conf.add" as that's what I was used to doing when running earlier versions of cake installed from CLI.

At any rate, I thought the use of docsis would overwrite any overhead values already defined from the GUI but it doesn't seem like that's the case as can be seen from the screenshot. I removed docsis and now its back to overhead 18, so I'll leave it like that for the interim. Just noting my observations.
Multiple overhead specifications on the command line are cumulative (overhead 18 docsis = 36). But docsis overhead 18 would result in 18. The overhead keyword is absolute, but the keywords are cumulative.

If you want to use the keywords only, leave overhead = 0 in the GUI.
 
Last edited:

cplay

Senior Member
Multiple overhead specifications on the command line are cumulative (overhead 18 docsis = 36). But docsis overhead 18 would result in 18. The overhead keyword is absolute, but the keywords are cumulative.

If you want to use the keywords only, leave overhead = 0 in the GUI.
If I want to forgo working out atm/mtu for my 4g connection can’t I just take an extra 5 percent off both upload and download and set to like 85,85 percent dl ul?
 

FTC

Senior Member
Hi, this is to report a successful dirty upgrade from 386.2 beta 1 to beta 3 on my RT-AX88U aimesh router and RT-AX56U aimesh node. Everything seems like working fine at this time : DHCP / Samba / diversion / OVPN server / IPTV / DLNA / AiProtection. My WAN is fiber 1Gb PPPoE symmetric. NTP time is correct although we did pass our timezone dst change last sunday so I can not confirm the glitch found in beta1 is fixed. I've also not seen traffic spikes. Wifi is fast although I still have AX mode disabled after beta 1 (I may try to retest this in the next hours).

All in all, looks very good. Thanks Merlin & team for another solid beta!
 

SomeWhereOverTheRainBow

Very Senior Member
There's an NTP issue, which is showing in 386.1_2 as well as 386.2_beta2/3. The ntp daemon is only opening an IPv6 port for supporting LAN clients. Since my ISP is IPv4 only, I disable IPv6 on the IPv6 page, but only an IPv6 port is opened. Here's output from a couple of relevant commands that illustrate what I'm talking about. Note that this is from 386.1_2, the release to which I reverted after issues with 386.2_betas (see above), and performed an 'nvram erase'.

Code:
[email protected]: netstat -peanut | egrep -v 'TIME_WAIT'\|'ESTABLISHED'
Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address           Foreign Address         State       User       Inode      PID/Program name  
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:5152            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      0          370        274/envrams        
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:18017           0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      0          450        1023/wanduck      
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:47753         0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      0          6265       2239/mcpd          
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:7788            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      0          7292       1905/cfg_server    
tcp        0      0 192.168.50.1:80         0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      0          7958       2380/lighttpd      
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:880           0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      0          5154       1230/httpd        
tcp        0      0 192.168.50.1:880        0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      0          5153       1230/httpd        
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:53            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      0          17087      3695/dnsmasq      
tcp        0      0 192.168.50.1:53         0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      0          17085      3695/dnsmasq      
tcp        0      0 127.0.1.1:53            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      0          17068      3692/stubby        
tcp        0      0 192.168.50.1:22         0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      0          2602       1084/dropbear      
tcp        0      0 192.168.50.1:1080       0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      0          6688       2393/ssh          
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:5916          0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      0          882        1955/acsd2        
udp        0      0 0.0.0.0:9999            0.0.0.0:*                           0          2748       1241/infosvr      
udp        0      0 127.0.0.1:42032         0.0.0.0:*                           0          881        1955/acsd2        
udp        0      0 127.0.0.1:53            0.0.0.0:*                           0          17086      3695/dnsmasq      
udp        0      0 192.168.50.1:53         0.0.0.0:*                           0          17084      3695/dnsmasq      
udp        0      0 127.0.1.1:53            0.0.0.0:*                           0          17067      3692/stubby        
udp        0      0 0.0.0.0:67              0.0.0.0:*                           0          17081      3695/dnsmasq      
udp        0      0 0.0.0.0:18018           0.0.0.0:*                           0          451        1023/wanduck      
udp        0      0 0.0.0.0:7788            0.0.0.0:*                           0          7293       1905/cfg_server    
udp        0      0 127.0.0.1:59032         0.0.0.0:*                           0          2623       1148/wlceventd    
udp        0      0 127.0.0.1:47032         0.0.0.0:*                           0          7324       1586/roamast      
udp        0      0 127.0.0.1:61689         0.0.0.0:*                           0          3241       1316/mastiff      
udp        0      0 :::123                  :::*                                0          7484       2233/ntp          
[email protected]: lsof -nPp 2233
COMMAND  PID    USER   FD      TYPE DEVICE SIZE/OFF NODE NAME
ntp     2233 graxadm  cwd       DIR   0,12     1712    1 /
ntp     2233 graxadm  rtd       DIR   0,12     1712    1 /
ntp     2233 graxadm  txt       REG   0,12   519260 4220 /bin/busybox
ntp     2233 graxadm  mem       REG   0,12    67348 3845 /lib/libresolv.so.2
ntp     2233 graxadm  mem       REG   0,12    17948 4100 /lib/libnss_dns.so.2
ntp     2233 graxadm  mem       REG   0,12    38500 4097 /lib/libnss_files.so.2
ntp     2233 graxadm  mem       REG   0,12  1242964 4054 /lib/libc.so.6
ntp     2233 graxadm  mem       REG   0,12   120500 3819 /lib/libgcc_s.so.1
ntp     2233 graxadm  mem       REG   0,12   714224 4057 /lib/libm.so.6
ntp     2233 graxadm  mem       REG   0,12    30208 4086 /lib/libcrypt.so.1
ntp     2233 graxadm  mem       REG   0,12   138508 4098 /lib/ld-linux.so.3
ntp     2233 graxadm    0u      CHR    1,3      0t0 1028 /dev/null
ntp     2233 graxadm    1u      CHR    1,3      0t0 1028 /dev/null
ntp     2233 graxadm    2u      CHR    1,3      0t0 1028 /dev/null
ntp     2233 graxadm    3u  netlink             0t0  155 unknown protocol: 31
ntp     2233 graxadm    4u  netlink             0t0  156 unknown protocol: 31
ntp     2233 graxadm    5u     IPv6   7484      0t0  UDP *:123


what is your output of

netstat -lnp | grep 123
 

BreakingDad

Senior Member
Dirty Install beta1 to beta3, had to reinstall yazdchp (without wiping) to get assignments back, I find that's usual for me even on a reboot however.

All good everywhere else.

Thank you Magic Eric.
 

RMerlin

Asuswrt-Merlin dev
Multiple overhead specifications on the command line are cumulative (overhead 18 docsis = 36). But docsis overhead 18 would result in 18. The overhead keyword is absolute, but the keywords are cumulative.

If you want to use the keywords only, leave overhead = 0 in the GUI.
Using the keyword does the exact same thing as using the preset on the webui, there's no reason to manually define it through a config file.
 

askan7

Regular Contributor
USB transfer speeds improved with beta 3. I was transferring at 50mb/s over wifi to my usb 3.0 flash drive. Before it was like 35mb/s max over wifi, 60mb over ethernet.
 

JohnD5000

Senior Member
Dirty upgraded from Beta 2 to Beta 3, now there are no items loading on the Addons tab. Actually, I click on the Addons link but the page doesn't open, it just stays on the last page that was being viewed. Might be a problem with one of the scripts, so I will post there, too. Edit: running RT-AC86U

Note: on that tab before was, dn-vnstat, spdMerlin, scMerlin, ntpMerlin, & Help & Support.

Logging into amtm, I can see that all the scripts show up and as best I can tell, are running.

Doing a cru l and all seem to be added. Note, I have a homemade script that runs every 3 minutes that I have been running for a year and 1/2, but looking at log, it is not running (but is in the cru l listing) EDIT: after 20-25 min from boot it started running every 3 min

When I select ntpMerlin through amtm there is this error message near top:

Code:
WebUI for ntpMerlin is available at:
WebUI page not found

When I noticed that the Addons page was not working, I did a hard reboot (power off/ wait two minutes and power back on. Didn't help.

I won't go back to Beta2 to see if we can find the issue. Let me know if there is any testing anyone wants me to try
 
Last edited:

Matthew Patrick

Senior Member
So anyone running beta 3 on AC86U as a main router? Any issues so far? Haven't seen much report here haha. Just some with random problems. But that's to be expected with different configurations...
 

Sicario

Regular Contributor
So anyone running beta 3 on AC86U as a main router? Any issues so far? Haven't seen much report here haha. Just some with random problems. But that's to be expected with different configurations...
for me, it's so much better than previous betas, especially with stability.
 

Matthew Patrick

Senior Member
yes, mostly with wifi. bad video quality during facetime or zoom, frequent latency spike during gaming..
Ah. Don't have that problem in beta 1 . Although I am using flexqos tho. Okay then. Thanks for the insight!! Please let us know if you've got any problems on this new beta thanks!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top