What's new

Can the RT-AC88U be configured to use the Pluggable 2.5G USB adapter for use as primary lan?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

sharkus

Occasional Visitor
Good morning,
Apologies if this has been asked before, I did a quick search and did not see anything specific to see if the RT-AC88U be configured to use the Pluggable 2.5G USB adapter for use as primary LAN WAN.
I was reading this thread [Success] 2.5G USB on GT-AX11000 and had another read of Renjie's post Towards 2.5GbE (NBASE-T) on ASUS RT-AX88U with RTL8156B and Asuswrt-Merlin 384.19 and wondered if this method could be applied to the RT-AC88U.

I'm far from an expert on things, but I think I could probably get the files compiled by following instructions and I do like to tinker with things from time to time. However, I would need to purchase the Pluggable adapter, and while not overly expensive, it might be a bit of a waste if I did not need it.

Part of me is wondering if it'd just be simpler to upgrade from the RT-AC88U to either an GT-AX6000 or RT-AX88U Pro (when they're readily available) both of which have 2 x 2.5GB ports on them.

Last edited:
Upgrade is the only solution. With USB-to-Ethernet adapter (if recognized and working) you'll get lower reliability, nowhere near 2.5GbE speeds, and your router's hardware is too weak even for Gigabit speeds anyway. If you need 2.5GbE LAN you don't need to upgrade your router - get a switch.

I edited my post to say WAN instead of LAN as I had a bozo moment :D