What's new

Help a noob build a home network

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

demonboy

New Around Here
Hi,

New to the forums. Struggled to work out where to post this because it concerns both wired and wireless! A wired home network to be accessed wirelessly.

I’m trying to build a network for my boat with low power consumption being the main aim. There are three areas I’m trying to serve: an always-on music network, accessible by remote smartphones but played through a head unit (or to be replaced with a dedicated amp); a media server for films for viewing in the evenings; and a file server required during the day for documents that could also double-up as the film server.

esper-network.gif

I’ve never built a network before so I’m trying to get my head around how things connect and what happens when things are turned on and off, so I’d be really grateful of any pointers. There’s probably some really daft assumptions and questions in the following:

1. Router
The C7 is a pretty low-powered router and has 2x USB 2 ports (the C8 has USB 3 but consumes a bit more power). I’d like to leave this on all the time but I’m interested to know what happens when you turn it off or, more importantly, what happens when you turn it on. How does it cope with other devices like hard drives and the Minix when they’re turned on? Does it automatically assign the same IP addresses and will they be automatically discovered every time I turn them on?