What's new

Help Please..Need assistance stopping outbound connections!

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Techno

Occasional Visitor
As the title of the thread states I need assistance with adding FW rules to my N66U to try and alleviate outbound connections from my IP cams. I logged onto my router web interface today and went to the WAN tab and looked up "Active Connections" and notice two of my ip cams are connecting to a China ip.

My firmware is Merlin 380.64_2. I do not have any open ports and have turned off all connections on both router (UPnP) and the individual cams (UPnP, P2P, Bonjour, etc) and even use OpenVPN but this does not stop them from making outbound connections. I have some networking experience but kind of a rookie at adding scripts and stuff and especially doing FW rules.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• Connections.JPG
    Connections.JPG
    21.2 KB · Views: 970
Outbound connections should not be an issue (maybe the cams are checking for firmware updates?) More concerning would be inbound connections to your cams. You should have a strong password for your cams and use the router firewall to block unwanted connections

Outbound connections should not be an issue (maybe the cams are checking for firmware updates?) More concerning would be inbound connections to your cams. You should have a strong password for your cams and use the router firewall to block unwanted connections

I've read that outbound connections could also be harmful as well. I shouldn't have any coo ections inbound due to UPNP turned off and no port forwarding (I use built in vpn) so FW should be taking care of that side of things.

I do change the default password on all my cams.