1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Hide SSID - Guest Networks?

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by Pericynthion, Apr 2, 2013.

  1. Pericynthion

    Pericynthion Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    San Diego , CA
    Hi everyone - new ASUS and Merlin user (please be gentle) with a quick question. I searched the forum, and understand the 'no-real-security benefit' of hiding the SSID from a couple of previous posts.

    Regardless, is there a way to hide the SSID for any created guest networks (from what I can see the 'Hide SSID' only applies to the main 2.4/5ghz networks).

    First thing I did after taking the router out the box was install the Merlin f/ware - working like magic so far! This is just a minor 'admin' question in the grand scheme of things..
     
  2. linkmaster

    linkmaster Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    As far as I know , there is no way to hide the guest SSID , and tbh , there is little or no reason to do hide a network SSID anyway , it's not really any more secure.

    a lot of wifi scanners (hardware and software) can find even hidden networks.
     
  3. jobongo

    jobongo Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Yes. There is a way to hide the guest networks. You will need to SSH or telnet into the router. For example if you wanted disable the SSID advertisement for guest network 1 on the 2.4 Ghz band then type the following.
    Code:
    nvram set wl0.1_closed=1
    nvram commit
    
    Use 0 instead of 1 to make it visible again.

    You will then have to disable then re-enable the guest network or restart the router to make it work. I have done this on the N66U and it works for me. I use it because I have a guest network setup for my VPN.

    Here is a list of the guest networks and their interface numbers.

    2.4 Ghz Radio
    wl0.1 ---> Guest Network 1
    wl0.2 ---> Guest Network 2
    wl0.3 ---> Guest Network 3

    5 Ghz Radio
    wl1.1 ---> Guest Network 1
    wl1.2 ---> Guest Network 2
    wl1.3 ---> Guest Network 3
     
    Cake likes this.
  4. torchddv

    torchddv Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Muskoka, Ont.
    Unfortunately, this does not seem to work anymore in 3.0.0.4.372.31.
     
  5. torchddv

    torchddv Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Muskoka, Ont.
    Correction

    I was wrong -- it does work -- AFTER a re-boot.
     
  6. fusionstream

    fusionstream Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Just want to say that this still works on 380.66_6

    This is what open source is all about. The ability to do things that can be done, regardless of whether others think it should be done.
     
    Grisu likes this.
  7. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,572
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    So if you understand that hiding SSID's has no real benefit, why persist in doing so?
     
    jerry6 likes this.
  8. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,337
    Same issue, just not to spread 100 SSIDs as this is for testing or special purposes and maybe used somewhere else as well.
     
  9. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,572
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Every SSID on the same Chip incurs overhead... and that overhead is not cheap...
     
  10. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,337
    only working upto 380_69_2 on my RT-AC68U
    no more possible since 382 and above :(

    and sorry, but overhead is only my own problem if any and I don't see any difference in speed with this enabled !!!
     
  11. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,963
    Location:
    UK
  12. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,337
  13. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,963
    Location:
    UK
    I thought so. The two posts I linked to are from @john9527 who has created a test firmware that attempts to fix your problem.
     
    Grisu likes this.
  14. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,337
    Thanks, I will try Johns fix, misunderstood his answers at first reading.
     
  15. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    United States
    The test build I put up that should let you set the ssid broadcast mode independently for the guest networks instead of following the primary wireless network settings. Use the nvram settings in previous posts.
     
    Grisu likes this.
  16. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,337
    yes working fine after first test - THANKS!

    Could this please be included in Merlins future versions as well?
     
  17. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    United States
    Thanks for verifying it works.....sent the commit off to Merlin.
     
  18. TonyK132

    TonyK132 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    75
    This also worked for me, thanks for the info. I was looking for a way to do this.