1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Kamoj add-on V5 for Netgear R7800 X4S and R9000 X10

Discussion in 'NETGEAR AC Wireless' started by kamoj, Dec 14, 2019.

  1. kamoj

    kamoj Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    827
    Thank you for using the addon, even if you don't use it for creating the openvpn configuration.

    I sure would like to help you, but I'm away from keyboard for some time, so I can only help a little now.

    It's good you supplied the log file!
    • In the .ovpn file, you should not specify the path to the password file.
    So change from:
    auth-user-pass /etc/openvpn/config/client/auth.txt
    to:
    auth-user-pass auth.txt
    • What do you mean when you say all the files?
    Do you have more than 2 files?
    • The addon have support for Surfshark. I suggest you use that to create a working OpenVPN connection.
    • You can also use the addon to edit your existing configuration, and change password etc
     
    Infinitum likes this.
  2. hearts_hacker

    hearts_hacker New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Joined to say thank you for your effort. Started using add on for R7800. So many new features to explore !!!

    Also wanted to comment on ad-blocker. I use Kaspersky Internet Security's default ad blocker and I noticed it works. Also tried using "Adblock Plus - free ad blocker" extension in firefox and it blocks youtube ads. Any idea which one will be blocking youtube ad?

    Also requesting for a feature to see site wise bandwidth usage? Basically I want to see the bandwidth used by all sites. Mainly to track if any background process is using internet or not. Not sure its possible or not.

    Is it possible to use vpn for only one url? I have membership of a vpn service but that I only want to use for specific url. Now my setup is that , I have configured Chrome with that VPN and when I need I browse that site using Chrome.

    Question on security. How to ensure that data is not getting hacked? My understanding is that, As the plugins are at router level, no antivirus will be able to track anything. Not sure its relevant or not but just curious.
     
    kamoj likes this.
  3. CatTurbo

    CatTurbo New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    @kamoj: Thanks for your reply. In the meantime I've found the solution for the login poup error on the openvpn setting page: a password change for the web interface. After changing the password, the opevpn and the routerinfo pages work without problem.
    For the checkboxes on the addon_setting page. Only in chrome the corresponding command (for example telnet login without password) is executed and the corresponding box is checked. In Firefox and Edge neither the command is executed nor the box will be checked.
    Albeit it is intressting that the checkboxes on other sub sites, for example on the addon_routerinfo.htm page work without problem in Edge and Firefox.

    For the antenna configuration topic (I speak here mainly from the perspective of an R7800 user). First I thought that this option controls which antenna will send in which band (as suggested by one user in the netgear forum who says that antenna 3 is mainly responsible for the 2.4Ghz band, see here). However, FCC aplication and antenna design (it is a 4x4 router) says that all antennas are identical (for more information see here). My own tests (by replacing one antenna with a directional one and then changing the antenna configuration to match the directional antenna (directional antenna on antenna port 3 => antenna configuration 3) were not very conclusive, as some times there was an increase in gain, other times not. I think I should repeat it....
     
    Infinitum and kamoj like this.
  4. Infinitum

    Infinitum New Around Here

    Joined:
    May 19, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    I experienced the same issue with the unsatisfied user/pass dialog when accessing the OpenVPN Client tab on Chrome 79.0.3945.86. Thank you for posting your solution, resetting the web password (Advanced>Admin>Set Password) worked for me, too.
     
    kamoj likes this.
  5. farenheit

    farenheit Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    67
    This might sound like a dumb question, but can someone explain how to use the openvpn part?
    Also which is the recommended adblock service everyone is using?
    Finally, in the next update, whenever that is, would it be possible to add windscribe?
    Thanks

    Sent from my GM1903 using Tapatalk
     
    kamoj likes this.
  6. kamoj

    kamoj Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    827
    I'm sorry I had no time to write instructions or help.
    Voxel encouraged me to release this in a rush before xmas.
    Without him there would be no addon!

    Find the section: Create OpenVPN Client Configuration
    • Fill in your Credentials: User Identity/Name and Password
    • Select your "OpenVPN Provider" in the drop list .
    • Wait for some time...
      ... for measuring speed of all servers.
    • Make your choice(s) and select a server in the drop list.
    • "Create configuration"
    • "Start VPN with this".
    (I recommend that you check "Cyclic Status update" at top of page,
    and check the log file.)

    If windscribe allow free access to .ovpn files no problem to add support. Do they?

    Ad- and malware etc blocking :
    I have no opinion,
    We all in community have to help!

     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2020
    seecoolguy, Voxel, tarassippo and 2 others like this.
  7. Infinitum

    Infinitum New Around Here

    Joined:
    May 19, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Hi kamoj, I appreciate your advice, my VPN issue is resolved! Once I was able to access the OpenVPN tab (above), I ran through the configuration in your add-on and all worked perfectly.

    Thanks again, both for the add-on and for your assistance while away!
     
    Voxel, anhrzg, kamoj and 1 other person like this.
  8. ulaganath

    ulaganath Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    485
    why does add on says a version which doesnt released yet
    upload_2019-12-31_18-14-19.png
     
    kamoj likes this.
  9. Infinitum

    Infinitum New Around Here

    Joined:
    May 19, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Looks as though Voxel posted version 74 today.
     
    kamoj likes this.
  10. NetBytes

    NetBytes Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    81
    I saw that also, but no new thread yet.
     
  11. Voxel

    Voxel Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,710
    Shh... Silent release... No new threads. For R9000 and Orbi too... Happy New Year!

    Voxel.
     
    mykal, karies, tarassippo and 10 others like this.
  12. NetBytes

    NetBytes Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    81
    Thank you & Happy New Year!
     
    kamoj and Voxel like this.
  13. manup85

    manup85 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    is Kamoj add-on compatible sir with new release? if it's included what commands are needed to be ran through telnet? happy new year Master.
     
    Voxel likes this.
  14. Voxel

    Voxel Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,710
    Yes, it should be the same.

    Voxel.
     
    Murtaza12, Bendon and kamoj like this.
  15. microchip

    microchip Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Belgium
    Thanks for the new release. See you next year! ;)
     
    anhrzg, Voxel and kamoj like this.
  16. Tiago

    Tiago New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Hi Kamoj!

    Many thanks for this :)

    One small issue I've found on this router whilst using an OpenVPN client: NAT loopback/hairpinning doesn't work. Meaning that if I have the OpenVPN client connected, I can't connect to my WAN IP and access internal services through the NAT port forwarding. This is possible while I'm not using the OpenVPN client. It does not matter whether the client is in the bypass list or not, in both cases it stays trying to connect and times out eventually.

    Keep in mind this is not specific to your setup - I get the same behaviour using this: https://www.myopenrouter.com/article/how-set-openvpn-client-netgear-r7800-voxels-custom-firmware

    But maybe you or Voxel have some idea on how to fix it. It feels to me that we probably need another `ip rule` to push our connections through the right interface.

    The reason why this is useful is that I have a domain name pointing to my WAN IP so I can access some services I have at home. These work when I'm outside of my home connection, but not when I'm at home if I'm using the VPN, and I have to use direct internal connections (which is a pain as the port is not the same).
     
  17. vladlenas

    vladlenas Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Starrbuck, Voxel and kamoj like this.
  18. Jack Gibbons

    Jack Gibbons New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Hi,

    When I am trung to download the addon to my router it says voxel-firmware.com is unresoavable. My router isn't connected to the internet as I would like to use this addon to enable option 61 for me to be able to connect. Is there a way to transfer the file across or another way?

    Thanks!
     
  19. microchip

    microchip Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Belgium
    Download the file to your computer and copy it to a USB stick. Insert the stick in the router's USB port and copy from /mnt/sda1 to /root (for example); cp -f /mnt/sda1/*.ipk /root

    Then: /bin/opkg install --force-overwrite /root/*.ipk
     
    kamoj and Jack Gibbons like this.
  20. NetBytes

    NetBytes Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    81
    fwiw: if you load it onto a usb stick you can install it directly from the usb stick, no copy into the router necessary
     
    kamoj likes this.