1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Kamoj add-on V5 for Netgear R7800 X4S and R9000 X10

Discussion in 'NETGEAR AC Wireless' started by kamoj, Dec 14, 2019.

  1. SwampKracker

    SwampKracker Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Great job, Kamoj.
     
    kamoj likes this.
  2. saajid

    saajid New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks a lot kamoj. Love the addon.
     
    Voxel and kamoj like this.
  3. manup85

    manup85 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Hello guys, was someone able to tune and get correct setting for the add blocking part? I'm using adaway for now only but I would like to know if there is something more specific for youtube adds and android apps. Thank you

    Inviato dal mio Mi 9T Pro utilizzando Tapatalk
     
  4. tarassippo

    tarassippo Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    UK
    Sorry for the noob question, but how do you download the file directly onto your computer or your USB stick ?
     
  5. microchip

    microchip Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Belgium
    Just copy and paste the URL provided on the first page in your browser? it'll ask you to save it
     
    kamoj and tarassippo like this.
  6. NetBytes

    NetBytes Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    81
    I do the following, and it allows me to re-install easily after firmware upgrade.
    Attach a USB drive to the 7800 - i had a spare 128GB and I leave it permanently attached.

    Follow Kamoj's instructions and telnet into your 7800.
    Before downloading the .ipk - change directories to your USB drive.
    For me the command is 'cd /mnt/sda1' which leaves me in the root directory of my USB drive.

    Follow Kamoj's instructions to download the .ipk file at this point and then finish the Kamoj install.

    The download will leave the kamoj ipk file on the USB drive.
    The install can be completed directly from the USB drive.
    The downloaded ipk will survive firmware updates since it's on the USB drive.

    When Kamoj creates a new version, I download and install it onto my USB drive and keep going.
     
    kamoj and tarassippo like this.
  7. Luizk

    Luizk Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    hey guys with this add kamoj should i have to disable the qos from netgear to use the qos from kamoj? if so. what is a good setting to an xbox. kamoj first time trying your add and damn
     
  8. kamoj

    kamoj Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    827
    Kamoj has no own QoS, so you must enable the normal Netgear one.

     
    farenheit and Luizk like this.
  9. Luizk

    Luizk Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    thank you for your quick response
     
    kamoj likes this.
  10. moojay

    moojay New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Hey all,

    I am using Voxel's + Kamoj addon + ExpressVPN + bypass for some (internal) IPs + DNSCrypt for Google DNS used by router and other anonymous servers close to ExpressVPN DCs for best performance of GEO based services.
    All works perfectly and (even though I am not linux guy) I am trying to squeeze max in regards to security and flexibility at the same time.

    Kamoj what you brought to my R7800 is exactly what made me pull this beast out from closet where it was collecting dust. Many thanks for your effort!

    Now what I am missing and trying to find solution for is to allow access to certain services (TCP/UDP) on my internal devices via my public IP while having OpenVPN UP.
    Obviously incoming traffic is not an issue (simple forward on router) but the response goes to VPN tunnel (assymetry).
    Is there way to route traffic originating from certain list of protocols and ports via default gateway of router (not OpenVPN)?

    Example:
    I'd like to manage device with IP X.X.X.X on my internal network using port tcp/443 from Internet (unknown IP Y.Y.Y.Y which can change anytime) using my fixed public IP from ISP.

    So I need to bypass OpenVPN returning traffic using source tcp/443 and Internal IP X.X.X.X - this information is known to router from Forwarding configuration (this is not error proof though) or
    I need to route all traffic to public IP Y.Y.Y.Y detected and allowed by router firewall/forwarding (i would have to delete this routing after some time (perhaps when session closes).

    Basicaly there is effective outbound bypass for internal IPs to avoid OpenVPN completely and now I am trying to find a way for inbound.

    Thanks for any ideas and tips.

    Regards
     
  11. B-dog66

    B-dog66 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Hi all,
    I'm new to al this tech. So I installed the kamoj add-on and i tried to activate the Dnscrypt 2 Ad-Blocking is asking for authentication and is not accepting my user and pass used for routerlogin.
    Any advice for me, please.

    Thanks
     
  12. kamoj

    kamoj Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    827
    Could be that your session timed-out.
    Try to always start with:
    http://www.routerlogin.net/index.htm and click the ADVANCED tab.
    Then you will be prompted to login before accessing the add-on pages.

    Also read this whole thread, about others having same problems:
    https://www.snbforums.com/threads/k...00-x4s-and-r9000-x10.60590/page-3#post-536755
    https://www.snbforums.com/threads/k...00-x4s-and-r9000-x10.60590/page-3#post-536777

     
  13. HELLO_wORLD

    HELLO_wORLD Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2020
    Messages:
    235
    First, a big thank you to Voxel and Kamoj for their work!
    It makes the supported routers (R7800 in my case) worth and I choose mine because of that.

    I have 2 wishes:
    As mentioned in other threads (like http://www.snbforums.com/threads/r7800-dns-setting-for-the-lan-dhcp-server.55802/ ), the R7800 does not support custom DNS broadcast over DHCP.
    It appears that this is set up in /tmp/dhcpd.conf, created by /etc/init.d/net-lan
    Is it possible to add in Kamoj Addon: Settings under the section DHCP Options a DNS field(s) to add custom DNS?
    It would add the custom DNS in the configuration file, before the default one (that should stay also if custom one fails).

    Second wish is: since the add on knows when there is a new Voxel release, is it possible to add an option somewhere to have the router update directly the Voxel firmware while checking for updates?

    Thank you, and Regards.
     
    Voxel likes this.
  14. kamoj

    kamoj Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    827
    Ok, I will add your first wish to next release.
    (It's really /tmp/udhcpd.conf that is used by udhcpd)

    The second wish you should ask the master himself: @Voxel

     
    spocko, HELLO_wORLD, Voxel and 3 others like this.
  15. chrispitude

    chrispitude New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    At the risk of asking a dumb question (certainly wouldn't be my first time!), how do I use the Ad-blocker functionality on my R8900?

    Some quality examples of what I don't know:
    • Do I need to change the DNS settings on each computer, or does the router automatically provide itself via DHCP?
    • Is there an optimal setting for DNS encryption (none/Stubby/Dnscrypt v2)?
    • Is there a tutorial where I can learn how this stuff works?
    Thanks everyone! It's great seeing all the work the community is putting into these routers.
     
  16. kamoj

    kamoj Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    827
    Welcome!
    No need for setting DNS.
    You must use Dnscrypt proxy 2 to get blocking with this add-on
    No tutorial yet. If you get pages blocked that you want to work, add the url to your whitelist!
    Sorry for the short answer, but I'm not able to help more now.

     
  17. Voxel

    Voxel Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,710
    No quite possible. Checking new version of firmware is hardcoded inside CGI processor (it is in binary pre-built form in GPL from NG). So it is using NG sites for checking and no possibility to change the codes to forward it to my site....

    P.S.
    Please do not forget to add @vladlenas to this list. His work is not so visible but not less important...

    Voxel.
     
  18. kamoj

    kamoj Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    827
    It's done and looks like this:
    dhcp_dns_hmi.jpg
     
    HELLO_wORLD likes this.
  19. HELLO_wORLD

    HELLO_wORLD Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2020
    Messages:
    235
    @kamoj Thank you! That was fast. This is perfect.
    I have a custom DNS Server on a NAS for my local network, and I had to use the NAS DHCP Server instead of the router's to be able to use the DNS Server. It makes more sense for the router to handle the DHCP.
    For info, my DNS Server is forwarding any request not related to my local network to the router DNS to use the ad blocking features and DNSCrypt.

    @Voxel Ok, I understand, nothing you can do about the CGI... The only option would be to trick the binary think it is connecting the NG servers while it is yours with DNS (unless it is even IP hardcoded). But I would think that the DNS request would not go through the router DNS but directly use the WAN provided one, so nothing simple and worth spending time while manual update is not hard.

    @vladlenas Thank you for all your work and contributions to this great project!
     
    Voxel and kamoj like this.
  20. Mike_1990

    Mike_1990 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Hey

    @Voxel Want to thank you for making my life a bit simpler and for improving my quality of internet. hehe.
    I am sadly stuck with this pos 7800 x4s for 2-3 more months and the netgear software is absolute pure sh*t. Luckily I will have my ubiquiti setup back in few months. But in the meantime your firmware has been a savoir for the x4s and actually made it halfway decent for a all in one consumer grade router.

    @kamoj Want to thank you as well for simplifying my life and improving the features of the router. The Signal Strength of all the connected clients is huge. I could not believe that it was not a feature that was built into the router with its stock firmware. The only way I could find the info before was by going to the debug.htm and running the log then saving it and opening the console log file but over half the time that would cause issues with the router and none of the 192.168.1.1 pages would work and it would cause my ethernet connected pc to lose connection but yet wifi still worked. So i would always have to restart the router to get it fully working again.
    I do have a few questions for you though.

    1.For the congestion control options can you tell me exactly which version each one is as most if not all of those have different variants to them and I am trying to decide which one would be best for certain gaming applications and for when I do heavy downloading. So if you could give me which variant to each one you have implented and maybe a brief description of each one would be greatly appreciated.

    2. What is Disable NSS Network SubSystem Accelerator for ipv4/6- I tried to google this information but it was very scarce and mainly talked about part of the network structure for cellular.

    3. Set an_router_flag in nvram to indicate 802.11a and 802.11n capability- what is this option and what does it do exactly

    4. can you elaborate on what each of the network options do

    Again thank you for the amazing addon and I hope to hear back from you soon.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 30, 2020