What's new

Looking for an 8-port switch that supports VLAN's (POE a plus) with ports on the back for a desktop

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

jlficken

Occasional Visitor
The title basically says it all.

I'm looking to add another VLAN to my network but I need another switch to do this under my TV since I have a Roku there as well that will need to be moved to another VLAN and I currently only have a dumb switch there.

I need a switch with the ports on the rear of the unit for use under a TV. VLAN support is a must and POE (802.3af is fine) would be a plus.

I've found a couple of TPLink switches (mainly the T1500G-8T) but I have never used them before and am not sure if they are garbage or not.

My current switches are Cisco Small Business SG350/SG250 series, Netgear ProSafe GS510TP's, and an EdgeSwitch ES-12F so I'd like to keep the same quality if possible.

I do see a Cisco SG200-8P that I can get for $120 shipped and am contemplating that but it is discontinued.

Any advice would be appreciated.

I would recommend that you stick with a single vendor and if possible, a single model within that vendor that has the capabilities you need. ;)

Switches, VLAN's and POE is supposed to be interchangeable but sometimes isn't and when conflicts occur, it can be frustrating to narrow down the issue(s).

With that said, the Netgear ProSafe line is a worthy contender.

Thanks for the suggestion and warnings.