What's new

Need SOLID router

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

scuts

New Around Here
I am a computer programmer and often upload pretty large files to servers etc. We are in a new 3000sqft house where most everything is hardwired however, we do need wireless capabilities. List of current devices:

These laptops are normally wired, but obviously could come off and go wireless
Laptop Intel 4965AGN Win 7
Laptop Intel 82579LM Win 7
Laptop Intel Centrino Advanced N Win 7
Laptop 11BGN Wireless Lan PCI Express Half Mini card adapter Win 7

Always wifi
Kindle Fire
Microsoft Surface RT
2 Android Phones

Wired straight to router
Buffalo Linkstation
Buffalo Terrastation
Everfocus Security System DVR

I am currently running a Netgear WNDR4500 and have had pretty good luck with it until we had the security cameras installed. The DVR loses its connection to the router causing the mobile as well as internal network viewing to drop. It is like it loses its IP (yes I understand this could be the DVR and not the router).

Based on recommendations of installer as well as Everfocus (DVR manufacturer) we went to a Linksys EA4500. That lasted about 4 hours, horribble wifi reception etc. Everfocus still dropped so I went back to the netgear.

I just need something that is SOLID as the netgear is starting to show signs of spotty connections. I have been reading up on the ASUS routers but I am concerned with all of the firmware problems. I would also like some sort of range extending capabilities as I have a shop about 600ft away down the hill through trees. This is not a must but would be an awesome nice to have.

Thoughts? Questions?

I used to be a fan of Linksys Cisco Routers however..