1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Netgear R7000P Bricked

Discussion in 'NETGEAR AC Wireless' started by Corrin, Mar 21, 2019.

  1. Corrin

    Corrin New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Hello,

    I have a Netgear Nighthawk R7000P which I accidentally Bricked when I unplugged it while it was on. It is now in a boot loop, and TFTP doesn't work. Serial flashing used to show the boot sequence, but after coming back to it, nothing shows on PuTTY.

    How would I go about fixing this?

    BTW, this is the TTL adapter I used:
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01N4X3BJB?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

    Any help would be much appreciated.
     
  2. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    29,797
    Location:
    Canada
    Try swapping tx and rx. Also connect ground, but NOT vcc.

    Also make sure Windows properly adds the COM port. Some adapters are not compatible with Windows 10.

    One way to test the adapter itself is to connect tx and rx together, then type something in your terminal window. The text should echo back to you.

    Have you tried just doing a factory default reset? Chances are it's the nvram that's corrupted, not the firmware itself (unless you were in the middle of flashing it when you unplugged it). Try turning it on with the WPS button pressed (assuming their bootloader is similar to Asus's), wait 10-15 secs, then release it. If it fails, try the same but with the reset button instead.
     
  3. Corrin

    Corrin New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Just tried now to no avail, I have tried swapping TX and Rx, and I don't plug in vcc. The router is however doing something different now, The ethernet lights are staying white/amber and the WiFi light is staying white. No other lights on, not even power. What's happened to it?
     
  4. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    29,797
    Location:
    Canada
    Can't tell you exactly, I never had an R7000P router in my hands.
     
  5. Corrin

    Corrin New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Is there anything else I could try?
     
  6. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,933
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I can't recall if R7000 is CFE or uBoot - but normally there is a rescue mode in the bootloader...

    Most revolve around getting a host to 192.168.1.2, and the target is 192.168.1.1

    @Voxel - any thoughts here, as you're the resident Netgear 3rd party dev guy?
     
  7. Gallo

    Gallo Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    grnd is pin 1, rx to 2 and tx to 3. a few ppl have claimed no output it appeared to be wrong serial connection.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2019
  8. Voxel

    Voxel Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Hi,

    R7000 is out of my area (it is Broadcom, not QCA). But as far as I know it has no u-boot. So similar to old ASUS. CFE.

    Voxel.
     
  9. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,933
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Yep, CFE, so TFTP recovery should work...

    @Corrin

    General guidance...

    https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/troubleshooting/vendor_specific_rescue#tftp_recovery_mode

    From Netgear's support forum

    https://community.netgear.com/t5/Ni...e-R7000-softbricked/m-p/414034/highlight/true

    https://www.myopenrouter.com/articl...-netgear-r7000-r6300v2-or-r6250-wi-fi-routers

    quick tip on the USB to serial - you only need to use Tx/Rx/Gnd line, pwr is not connected

    Screenshot 2019-03-23 at 6.27.04 AM.png
     
    Voxel likes this.