1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Problems with new RT-Ax88U rounter

Discussion in 'ASUS AX Routers & Adapters' started by Ansat, May 22, 2019.

  1. Ansat

    Ansat New Around Here

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Hello,
    Just bought a brand new AX88U router. My issue is connecting to the 2.4ghz band. If I am right next to the router it works fine but if I move to my bedroom, about 40 feet away I am unable to connect at all. A wifi analysis app shows the signal to still be strong around -60dbm. My phone (oneplus 6T) will connect to the 5ghz band with no issues from this location. 2 other devices in this room that can only use 2.4ghz band also will not connect. Again if I move them next to router they will work fine. If I connect my phone close to the router and then move to the bedroom it will lose internet and then eventually disconnect.
    I was previously using a netgear r6900 that had no issues with the 2.4ghz band in this room for the past 2 years with zero dropped signal.
    I have upgraded to the latest asus release firmware and also tried the latest merlin firmware with no changes.
    I have tried rebooting and doing a factory reset with no changes. I have tried setting specific channels vs auto and tried a few other setting changes but no difference.
    Any ideas on what may be going on? is this bad hardware?

    Scott
     
  2. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    30,414
    Location:
    Canada
    Try disabling Beamforming and Airtime Fairness on the 2.4 GHz band.
     
  3. FTC

    FTC Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    Barcelona
    Hi, also and to avoid interferences make sure you do not have a USB3 device plugged (for testing) - or at least set it to mode USB2 -.
     
  4. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,884
    and for testing set to 20MHz bandwith.
     
  5. Ansat

    Ansat New Around Here

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Ok beamforming and airtime fairness both disabled, had already set bandwith to 20mhz to see if it helped, no USB drives have been plugged in. No change :(
     
  6. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,397
    I see from your first post that you have tried using manual Control Channels. Which ones did you try? (Only 1, 6, and 11 are the valid choices).

    It isn't clear if you're using stock Asus firmware or RMerlin's fork? In any case, have you performed a full reset to factory defaults (please see my signature below for the M&M Config guide)?

    You may also benefit from doing a full Sanitize Network process too (again, please see the same signature link below). Pay particular attention to using new SSID's that are 8 alphanumeric characters long and don't contain any special characters, punctuation or smiley faces.

    Are the antennae pointing straight up? Is the bedroom on the same floor? Or on another level?

    Have you tested with the orientation of the router to see if the signal in that far room benefits? It may only need a few inches in any dimension to improve greatly.

    What is surrounding the router? It should have at least 3'/1m in each direction for the signals to properly form and propagate uniformly. It should also be at least 10'/3m above ground level.
     
    Dave Parker likes this.
  7. Ansat

    Ansat New Around Here

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    When I manually chose a channel I used 11 because that was what I used on my previous router. For completeness I just changed to 6 and that actually fixed the issue.
    Which to me really doesn't make sense, I show only one other person using channel 11 and it's a really weak signal. I measured and I'm only 30 feet from router on same level, 2 walls between us. I mean if the router was that sensitive to interference no one in an apartment could use it. But I guess sometimes these things don't make sense. Everything in bedroom working now so guess I'll stay away from chan 11 in future.
     
    L&LD likes this.
  8. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,397
    Thanks for the update. But it does make sense to me.

    With every new router and for me, almost every new firmware, I throw out the old assumptions and just use what works now. :)

    Even if you never changed anything in your own network, the WiFi environment changes in the immediate surrounding apartments will affect you eventually. ;)

    Thinking a bit out loud, that weak signal from the other person may be part of the issue too. If the new router you're using is more sensitive and is trying to sync with what it 'hears', it may be doing too much accounting for the environment and not enough letting you use the bandwidth you need. ;)
     
    Dave Parker likes this.
  9. FTC

    FTC Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    Barcelona
    Really sounds like interference in that channel... check if there is any potential source of interference around, USB3 / bluetooth devices, microwave ovens, .. and so on
     
  10. JemTheWire

    JemTheWire Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    164
    Location:
    UK, Manchester
    I had fitted a combined USB and mains socket in my office. I thought it was great, for a short while. Then I noticed my IoT devices on the 2.4 band had become very flakey. It was really bad and frustrating. In the end, I used an old trick.
    Using an old AM radio tuned to 615MHz, I literally when round the house listening for interference.

    Turns out that this USB/mains socket had gone faulty and was generating lots of RF interference. As it was hard wired into our mains supply, the whole house wiring had become a transmitter.

    Ironically the USB unit was functioning perfectly and gave no other indication of the problem.

    I was blaming neighbours!

    It could be a ‘wall wort’ PSU, faulty LED light bulb etc.

    I’m just posting this so that you can realise that things can change without you being aware.
     
    Grisu, Dave Parker and L&LD like this.
  11. Ansat

    Ansat New Around Here

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Minutes before I plugged in the new router my old router worked flawlessly on that same channel and I didn't add anything else. Unless there is something that makes the new router more sensitive to already existing interference I can't explain it.
     
  12. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,397
    Consider that the capabilities of the old router and the new one are wildly different. :)

    Saying the same channel was used is like saying you used to use second gear in your old car for a certain road and now need to use different gears. ;)

    WiFi is 'art' just as much as it is 'science'. The underlying theories used and leveraged in any one specific design can and will play out to differences in how one router reacts to the same environment vs. another based on different capabilities (hardware and software).
     
    Dave Parker likes this.