What's new

Voxel R7800 Voxel Internet Speed seems capped

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

senpai

New Around Here
Hello.
1st off I would like to thanks Voxel and Kamoj. I am new to Linux, so please bare with me.

I am on V1.0.2.80.4SF and have been having issues with internet speed when using OpenVPN (IPVanish). I have 2 devices connected and every report the same speed.
I get 30 - 35 mbps while using IPVanish on the routerand on a mobile device.
If I disable it I can get upto 250 mbps (i have comcast at 300+ )

the thing is, that when I run the IPVanish application on win10, I get close to 220 mbps. (this make my head hurt :))

at this point I do not know for what else I need to look for and or change.

this is the .opvn:
client
dev tun
proto udp
remote iad-a03.ipvanish.com 443
resolv-retry infinite
nobind
persist-key
persist-tun
persist-remote-ip
ca ca.ipvanish.com.crt
verify-x509-name iad-a03.ipvanish.com name
auth-user-pass IPVanishVPN.auth
comp-lzo
verb 3
auth SHA256
cipher AES-256-CBC
keysize 256
tls-cipher TLS-DHE-RSA-WITH-AES-256-CBC-SHA:TLS-DHE-DSS-WITH-AES-256-CBC-SHA:TLS-RSA-WITH-AES-256-CBC-SHA

I did compare the logs when I connect via router with ipvanish enabled and running IPVanish thur app.
i did notice that snd and Rcv buffers were a bit different, but i have not found any why to actually change it.
I did change it in the /etc/init.d/openvpn-client file but that did not help.....

any way I thank everyone in advance for taking a look....

Senpai

I'm also using IPvanish and also seeing that maximum download speed is around 35 Mbps.

Reason why your Win10 can reach much higher speeds, it because it has a much faster CPU than the router.