What's new

Router/AP for event photography, long range with high troughput, and perhaps 3G?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

vyruz

Occasional Visitor
Hi,
I'm a SNB reader for years but only just registered on the forums to ask my question.
I've used search but couldn't really find a similar question being asked before, so here goes:

I'm a photographer and mostly do event photography.
On these events I'll be out in the field snapping images of whatever's going on, and my assistant will be sitting somewhere at her laptop selling printed images to customers.
Up to now I did this by just bringing in the CF-cards out of my camera every now and then, but this posed multiple problems.
So I decided to buy a Nikon WT-4 wireless transmitter which is a small WLAN device which I can attach to my belt and then connect via USB to my camera (see this link for details).
This device will then each time I've snapped a picture connect a pre-defined FTP server and upload the image.
This FTP server will be running on the laptop.

Now off course the question arises which router or access point to buy.
Ideally I would need one which has the furthest possible range, and also a decent throughput.
Wireless-N is not required though as the WT-4 is only a B/G itself...

Most of the time I'll be working on a field outdoors and the laptop will be sitting inside with a view on the field, so I was thinking an accespoint with a built in directional antenna would be best, perhaps with the possibility to connect an external antenna (which would allow me to switch to a omnidirectional antenna in case it's necessary).