RT-AC88U

  • ATTENTION! As of November 1, 2020, you are not able to reply to threads 6 months after the thread is opened if there are more than 500 posts in the thread.
    Threads will not be locked, so posts may still be edited by their authors.
    Just start a new thread on the topic to post if you get an error message when trying to reply to a thread.

pete y testing

Very Senior Member
no real logical reason why they cant implement it.

no real logical reason they should as its fully available on the asus wrt firmware that is an extension of asus , merlin isnt 3rd party firmware , i consider merlin more like R and D for asus and some things they take up some they dont
 

fax

Senior Member
Is it still not possible to route a VPN to specific clients on this router?

Im tempted to flash Merlin FW but would prefer to stay on ASUS.

Toon
Same wish, same waiting.... installed Merlin. It works fine with the routing policy options in there!
 

Wiredless

Occasional Visitor
Hey all, after using a RTAC66U for years I upgraded to the AC88U.
Better router as far as range goes, but I am having massive issues (constant through the 2 months of ownership) where my 5G network just disappears. I can either reboot the router or pick a different channel and it'll come back for a day or so. Then poof, it's gone. 2.4 is fine and strong, but I cannot keep the 5G network working to save my life. Frustrating as my 66U never did this. When the 5G works it's freakin strong and awesome. Latest ASUS firmware.
Tried everything. Also, after a few days the GUI starts running very slowly. Very, sometimes unresponsive.

Any help would be much appreciated!
 

sm00thpapa

Very Senior Member
Running my AC88U since launch and never had an issue with the 5GHz band. Could be you have a bad radio. Try a hard re-set and reconfigure and see what happens.
 

Wiredless

Occasional Visitor
Well that sucks - just past my return window. How can it work and then poop out. If the radio was bad I'd think I never get any 5G performance.
Also, the system log just spams these errors by the thousands (which must be slowing down the GUI) - and again after a reboot things work fine for a day or so:


Nov 21 10:19:15 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:15 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:15 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:15 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:15 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:15 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:15 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:15 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:16 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:16 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:16 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:16 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:16 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:16 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:16 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:16 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:17 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:17 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:17 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:17 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:17 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:17 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:17 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
Nov 21 10:19:17 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.
 

Wiredless

Occasional Visitor
Whenever I make a change to the 5G network and knock off all the clients, it fixes itself - the logs clear up, GUI runs fast etc. Wonder if I've got a 5G-configured device going nutso and taking out the router...
 

theo

New Around Here
Whenever I make a change to the 5G network and knock off all the clients, it fixes itself - the logs clear up, GUI runs fast etc. Wonder if I've got a 5G-configured device going nutso and taking out the router...

I had the the vanishing 5G myself a month ago after scheduling it, unscheduling it, at least for now has resolved it. maybe?
 

RMerlin

Asuswrt-Merlin dev
Make sure you avoid DFS channels. If there's a radar in your area, it might cause stability issues as the router will have to move to a different channel.
 

Wiredless

Occasional Visitor
I had the the vanishing 5G myself a month ago after scheduling it, unscheduling it, at least for now has resolved it. maybe?
So you put the 5G network on a schedule to essentially 'reboot' it, daily? Might be a good idea..
 

Tibor Szekeres

New Around Here
Anyone knows why merlin can't load on an RT-AC88U. I got 380.61 beta 2 to load but cant move from there on. Tried .62, .63 all no go. I get a message that I should check the format of the file, or the completeness of the download but the files are from the download site and all seems to looks good. I don't even know why beta 2 got on. I can't go backwards to .60, .59 get a message about regulatory compliance?!
I bought the hardware a few days go, it says it was mfg-d in 2016. Can anyone help?
 

RMerlin

Asuswrt-Merlin dev
Anyone knows why merlin can't load on an RT-AC88U. I got 380.61 beta 2 to load but cant move from there on. Tried .62, .63 all no go. I get a message that I should check the format of the file, or the completeness of the download but the files are from the download site and all seems to looks good. I don't even know why beta 2 got on. I can't go backwards to .60, .59 get a message about regulatory compliance?!
I bought the hardware a few days go, it says it was mfg-d in 2016. Can anyone help?

Post a screenshot of your error message.
 

sfx2000

Part of the Furniture
Nov 21 10:19:15 kernel: External imprecise Data abort at addr=0x7ea8af00, fsr=0x1406, pc=0x8030b744 lr=0x7f089278 ignored.

In ARM code - a data abort is a bad thing - usually means data was processed as instructions by the ARM core - bad code, usually a misalignment - could be a driver issue, or config, but one shouldn't see things like this...
 

Wiredless

Occasional Visitor
Sounds like we've got some pretty buggy firmware, as experiences are showing on the ASUS forums..
Quite a few folks with my exact issue - disappearing and/or non-existent 5G.
The scheduling reboot and scheduling windows for the 5G radio didn't do a thing.
 
Last edited:

GHammer

Senior Member
So, I have a RT-N66U and I'm looking to upgrade for better coverage as I've moved to a two story house.
Would this or the 4 port version be a worthy purchase?
 

winb83

Occasional Visitor
I have two of these things and the primary one is always online and never has issues but the second one connected as a wireless bridge requires constant resets because it drops connection. It's ridiculous. This has been going on ever since they released this router. Maybe there's a solution to it I just don't know about? Out of date firmware perhapse?
 

sm00thpapa

Very Senior Member
So, I have a RT-N66U and I'm looking to upgrade for better coverage as I've moved to a two story house.
Would this or the 4 port version be a worthy purchase?

If you want better coverage from a single router I would go with the Netgear X4S. I have the 88U and there is not much improvement of range over the N66U.
 

sfx2000

Part of the Furniture
If you want better coverage from a single router I would go with the Netgear X4S. I have the 88U and there is not much improvement of range over the N66U.

The laws of the universe - e.g. Physics - suggest that performance should be similar...

Make the best of what you have, and in WiFi, location is important relative to AP's and Clients...
 

sm00thpapa

Very Senior Member
The laws of the universe - e.g. Physics - suggest that performance should be similar...

Make the best of what you have, and in WiFi, location is important relative to AP's and Clients...

Yes I agree. I keep all routers in the same location when I test them. And right now the X4S is doing a better job in covering my entire 2600 square foot 2 story home. I am still using the TP-Link 8630 Kit to cover my patio and 1 upstairs bedroom. But with the X4S I can possibly remove the 8630 and still get good coverage. The X4S also covers my pool area which is on the side of the house closet to the room with the router.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

ToonTonic

Regular Contributor
On the latest ASUS firmware is client specific VPN routing possible? I have just 2 devices on my network that I would like to be on a VPN automatically via the RT88U.

Looking at the below picture it does indeed look possible, but I heard you could only do this via the Merlin firmware.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you & merry Christmas



Toon
 

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top