What's new

RT-AX88U poor network performance/speed

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Rossco33333

New Around Here
Hi There,

I am a newbie at this and wondered if you could help me?

My network performance seems to be quite poor on wifi...and the range doesn't seem great even though I have two AX56's in the house to serve as extenders on top of the modem.

i am a fibre max plan which offers nearly 1Gbit for downland and nearly half a gigabit upload.

I still seem to sit at around 400mbps on wifi for download, sometimes it's worse. The range throughout the house is not great regardless of the AX56 extenders.

Could I have some help to seem if I am doing something wrong?

Thanks very much, appreciate it.

Welcome to the forums @Rossco33333.

Those are the expected speeds from those entry level (and, I believe EOL) models.

You will need to upgrade your hardware to achieve better.

I have two AX56's in the house to serve as extenders on top of the modem

Extenders (also called repeaters) use the same radio to communicate to the parent AP (your modem/router) and to the connected clients. This retransmission of the data is causing 1/2 throughput to the clients. What you get is actually excellent speed for an extender connected client. For better speed you need to wire your routers and use them as access points (AP Mode). Then you may see about 800Mbps to AX client close to the AP.

"400mbps on wifi for download" may not be bad at all! An AC client will be more than happy with it. Although in excellent conditions you may be able to achieve some 650-700mbps.
Depends on tons of factors, one of the most important being the clients.