What's new

RT-N66U with strange lag spikes

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Chiba

Occasional Visitor
Quite recently I started to notice issues with the latency in online games. I first assumed it was my provider but it turns out that my RT-N66U seems to be the culprit.
When doing a ping I usually get the normal times of 1ms but there will one of the four that sits at between 1500 and 2000ms in almost every single try.
I notice this issue also during normal surfing as websites will sometimes load instantly (as I'm used to) and sometimes take a long time to load. Even connecting to the router's interface presents the same delays at times, sometimes making it unable to load at all.

I'm not really a network pro but I tried to see whether any other networks are interfering with the help of inSSIDer. It shows the signal at around -65dBm with 0 Co-Channels and 0 Overlapping. I guess that's good? There is also only one network close enough to interfere but that has been here for years now and never presented an issue.

I've also been trying to give it more airflow but so far no change. I've updated to firmware 3.0.0.4.380_8120 months ago and never had issues until now.

Could this be a sign of the router dying? It has been sitting in the same place since it was bought 6 years ago and this is the first time I'm experiencing any kind of issues with it.

While we are at it, which Asus router would be a good replacement for the RT-N66U? I'd rather spend a bit more and have a reliable router.

Hmm ...
  • What are you pinging to? (Wasn't clear if you were pinging to something local or to something on the Internet.)